Visionary Art Contest: Teleport into the crystalline dimension 👽

hyperrealityobject.gif

orbweapon.gif

alienplant.gif


These are my futuristic artworks made for the #VISIONARY ART CONTEST organised by @elohprojects together with @slothicorn, the theme is to design an alien plant, a hyper-dimensional object and a divine weapon.

I have been self teaching myself how to use 3d software for the last 4 years and I love it, i'm always creating sci-fi looking objects for fun. As yet I don't earn a living from my art but would like to one day so I can focus all my attention on it. I'm hoping steemit will help me on my journey getting there!

How I made these 3d gifs is quite complicated, so i'll try and break it down as easy as I can, I hope it makes sense!

First I used an amazing software called cinema 4d to make these sci-fi 3d objects, this is the most fun but also difficult part.

What I like most about c4d is you can be very intuitive with your creativity and you can also create incredible textures.

Let's start with the hyper dimensional object

I started out by using shapes, like torus, sphere and capsule. Then I used effectors to distort the shapes, the effectors were bend, melt, twist, you can play around with the parameters until you find something you like, I really liked the outcome here.

hyper1.jpg

Then I placed my new hyper object into a scene, I used a camera and aligned it to a spline so I could capture the image from a 360 view, then I rendered the animation which took some time because my computer isn't very powerful so I left it to render over night.

hyper2.jpg

Once rendered I could make a movie file and then import it into photoshop where I made it in to a gif by (importing frame to layers) then saving it for web.

hyper3.jpg

The final result feels really space age utopian to me. I like to imagine futuristic stuff being light, bright and positive. The shape of the hyper dimensional object feels really feminine and organic, I like that vibe, it's pleasing to my eye.

Now onto the Divine Weapon!

Okay so it doesn't look so aggressive, after all it's a divine weapon so I wanted it to be something that looks a bit more peaceful (a bit like a pokimon ball) there are still magic powers within this ball that keep the user protected and aids in defence.

orbref3.jpg

Again I used the cinema 4d software, I started out just using a basic sphere shape but the other elements I added to it, like hair texture by using the effectors in the software and adding smaller orbs layered on top but with a see through texture.

orbref2.jpg

I actually used one of my previous artowork images that I made doing video work, I used the still image as a texture on the orb. I rendered this image off like before but as it was a still it didn't need over night rendering.

orbref4.jpg

Then I brought the image into photoshop and changed the colour of it using curves, I made three versions of different colours and did the same process as before by making a gif.

Finally the Alien Plant

This alien plant is a bioluminescent colour shifter changing according to its environment, there isn't gravity where it's from so it floats in mid air and has the ability to move about. The stubby ends are its roots where it absorbs in negative energy which its able to transform into new growth ( the spikey end) and release positive energy. I would love to have this plant in my house!

plant.jpg

Using c4d again but this time I used a platonic shape as the base, I added more segments to the shape and made the object editable which allows me to grab individual segments with the extrude tool and pull them out into different directions

plant2.jpg

Then the shape needs to be put in a hypernurb to smooth off all the hard edges otherwise the shape will look rather crude. Here is what it looks like with the hypernurb off.

plant5.jpg

Like the previous artworks I render the image off and brought into photoshop to make a gif. I used the curves again to change the colour to make the gif, then making frames to layers.

plant4.jpg

All off these gifs can be made into still for the contest if necessary just let me know and i'll post those as well if needed

If you like these artworks you might like some of my previous posts...

Video space piece
Audio Visual Piece
My intro with gifs and surreal writing piece

As you can imagine I'm a bit of a digital geek and quite shy.... my name is krystaleye

krystaleyegifsmallnew.gif

I prefer to be anonymous, this is my avatar!

steemitsmallxs.gif
krystal-eye-text-small.gifsteemitsteemxxs.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @krystaleye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by krystal eye from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

wow im really amazed about this work looks really futuristic
great job

This is so cool! Awesome work my friend!!

whoa! that GIF is bangin' love how you showed the process too! thats great for other artists to learn how to use these software programs

wow what a compliment from you @web-gnar i really like ur gifs so means alot to me. maybe we can collaborate or something, would be cool. thanks for putting me in artzone!

yeah definitely!! that would be awesome 😎!!

is there a discord group for digital artists like ourselves? so we can all connect?

there is an artzone one. https://discord.gg/g5YkuXr
but i dont know about jus digital artists. you can message me on there private @web-gnar

you have been featured in an honorable mention in today's artzone

Artfully created. Started following you today.

thank u, i like ur feed so im following u too now :)

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

WOW, i thought that i was in the Tron's world when i saw this image, really cool.

wow what a compliment, you know i have never seen tron film but it looks amazing!

psy che de llyc <3
I'm a bit intimidated by this... it's so vaporwave!

hi there! lol plz dont be intimidated its all friendly here :) yes a bit vaporwave / new aesthetic i like your steemit name btw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54