You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to VIVA, part 6 : A Game of Chains

in #vivacoin7 years ago

Great explanation @williamsbanks
My brain must be processing a little better because I actually understood the bulk of what you were saying! YAY ME! LOL
Seriously though, I am so excited to be on the cutting edge of VIVA.

Sort:  

Nesting limit... people love their cats! :)

I was just in a group discussion this morning about onboarding people. To get people to come to Steemit we need to find informative, fun ways to negate their excuses.
Here are the top excuses I get:

  • I don't want to build another fan base
  • I don't understand cryptocurrency
  • What's to stop Steemit from shutting down like Bubblews & Tsu?
  • STEEM isn't "real money"

How would you answer back to those issues?

Here you go. Token Cat gif. LOL

  1. I don't want to build another fan base
  2. I don't understand cryptocurrency
  3. What's to stop Steemit from shutting down like Bubblews & Tsu?
  4. STEEM isn't "real money"
  1. You don't need to build another fan base, many of your fans are already here and those who aren't will come with you if they're really your fans. Why not? It's free money.

  2. You don't understand how your computer works either, but you use it every day. You learn by doing.

  3. Nothing, everything comes to an end one day. But in the meantime you get the chance to make money for everything you say. How much did you get from facebooks for all those likes on your last post?

  4. Neither is Visa or Mastercard or even Gold, but with the exception Gold you still use them everyday to make purchases. Money is only worth what you can exchange it for.

The one I get often is...
"it just sounds too difficult and too complicated..."

or different variations of that...

Basically people seem to just want free money... with no effort... that is my final conclusion.

I do think if we could make it more like facebook where people could post their cat pictures and earn a couple bucks or a couple cents or whatever, it would be a lot more attractive to the masses... most people don't have the time or desire to blog in long form...

:snort: you said log form lol


Sorry. I'm punchy and only had 4 hours sleep - the juvenile escaped for a moment. :P

Ahem Getting serious again...
I've been thinking about trying an initiative/challenge to onboard ONE friend (or adopt a newbie). Hold their hand in teaching markdown or using the editor. Dedicate a couple of my liquid earnings from a set amount of posts to boost their wallet. Show them how to power up or create a wallet. Those were all new things for me. Thankfully I've been blogging since the 90s or I might not have made it. But you've got people like @karenmckersie and @karenb54 who never did any of it and they are doing rather well. What was in the kool-aid when they drank it?

Haha oops! Edited. That is one of my favorite movies by the way. It's a baby ruth bar!

Those are some good thoughts... I mean it can be done. Look at us, we did it without any prior experience but we stuck with it longer than most people probably are willing to. I think it took me close to 2 months before I ever had a post go over $2 in value...

OK I am here poking around like you asked!!!!!!

What are the best 2-3 posts for me to find/read about all this VIVA stuff

  • @williambanks
  • followed
  • @merej99 wants me to learn about this stuff, she has a plan and we know what this means LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68500.64
ETH 3751.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65