Visions Vlog #13 - Why I Don't Use Upvote Bots, and Rarely Upvote Myself

in #vlog6 years ago


What's up DTube!

On today's Visions Vlog, I speak on Upvote Bots, and why I choose not to use them.

Essentially, my choice comes down to co-creating the world, reality, and my experience of Steemit that I truly want. When I think about this platform, I see it as an amazing way to organically reach a new audience, as well as to connect with other artists, musicians, and creatives.

Using a voting bot to get my post seen, is the exact opposite of organic. Sure, not all of my posts break $1.00, but at least I have actual feedback and realistic data to learn from. Maybe my content was whack, maybe I posted at the wrong time of day, etc etc...but if I use a vote bot to get my post out there, I'm really just artificially inflating its value.

Maybe it's because I don't like to compete, and like to just create my own lane and do my own thing. I've always seen Steemit as a tremendous opportunity, not a competition between other users. I believe we all have an opportunity to express ourselves here, and I simply want to express myself and let the chips fall where they may. Paying for voting bots seems like I'm forcing it.

That's another reason why I rarely upvote myself. If I do, it's because it's a collaborative post, such as the Steemit Cypher Sunday challenge I run, as this supports others as well. I believe our SP is best used to upvote others and to help curate awesome content.

I also believe that this comes down to an abundance vs. scarcity mindset. When you NEED money, you don't get it. But when you don't need it, it comes from everywhere. So as I embrace more and more abundance in my life, I've found that I have less desire to "force" my content out there, and more desire to create because I love creating, and just trusting in the process and flow of life.

I hope to see votebots eventually be a thing of the past. Even the name "bot" sounds sketchy doesn't it?

Let me know if you agree, or disagree in the comments!

Let me know if you agree, or disagree in the comments!


Connect with Me
Official Website | http://www.bryandivisions.com
Facebook | http://www.facebook.com/bryandivisions
YouTube | http://www.youtube.com/c/bryandivisions
Soundcloud | http://www.soundcloud.com/bryandivisions
Twitter | http://www.twitter.com/bryandivisions
Instagram | http://www.instagram.com/bryandivisions
Email | [email protected]


Thanks for watching!

bryandivisionsspotifyfooter.jpg



bryandivisionssignature2.png
Much love,
Bryan Divisions


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well I use the bots all the time. I try to use them for others just as much as I use them for myself. I usually wait until a while before I use them.

I think that they are going to be part of the platform especially when SMT comes out.

Using them for others is a good look! Thanks for your support with Cypher Sundays!

Yah I'm looking forward to SMTs! In regards to integration into the platform, it would be cool to see the promote function updated to function as an upvoter and burn the SBD instead of having to use privately owned bots.

I also don't like bots, so I voted this post.
I'd like to be in a clean environment, where only good content is rewarded.

Its nice

Great post i like it

Good stuff @bryandvisions! I took a Steemit education course on Udemy.com and felt very similar when the Vote Bot section came up.

Though I can't say whether or not I'll use them in the future, you've definitely given us something to think about.

Thanks for the post!

I totally agree with you, using 'bots' for me is like you're devaluing the post and when you use bots tpo much you won't be getting upvotes from people that much again.
I've been following you up for a while now and I've seen that you're really doing a great job on Steemit with the cypher sunday drops and others, I'm also a Rapper and aspiring music producer but currently having some issues, but it's all good. Looking forward to seeing your post on this weeks Rap Challenge.

Congratulations @bryandivisions, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2704 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7081.92. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @dtube valued at 139.03 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

congrat for you @briyadivisions ,
I like your videos in dtube ... thank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97