You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Episode 1: ReWilding Your Movement | Remembering the Innate Abilities of Our Feet (Vlog)

in #vlog6 years ago

Awesome episode! You've got some serious balancing skills, Ini.

I've been walking around barefoot out in the wilderness, but people keep telling me I'm gonna get bit by a rattlesnake... but I don't wanna wear heavy shoes! Do you have snakes where you are?

I heard you use the term Rewilding... are you familiar with Daniel Vitalis?

Sort:  

thanks!! hear you on not wanting to wear heavy shoes! the couple times i've seen rattlers in the wild, i saw them way prior to walking up to them and so was able to divert my trail. they are certainly worthy of being respected, but i think not overly feared. it's my belief that most snakes don't want to go out of their way to "attack", but rather get spooked or defensive when we get too close or step up on them on accident.

too funny you asked about snakes and i almost included it in the vid, but right after ini finished balancing, we saw a huuuuge snake swimming in the water. not certain on id, but it might've been a copperhead, one of our poisonous snakes around here.

yes, we wrote about ReWilding in that intro post link above, i'm not sure if it caught your eye or not, and referenced Vitalis at the end. he's certainly the inspiration behind this!!!

I'm new to this world of poisonous snakes. In the Pacific Northwest the only snakes I ever saw were garter snakes which aren't dangerous. I'll just keep my eye out...

Daniel Vitalis has had a huge influence on my life, and is one of the main reasons I'm living the way I am. Glad to hear you're familiar with his work.

wow, so cool to hear! yeah ini has been the main one who has gotten into his work, but everything he tells me i have been getting stoked on!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87