A day i will never forget on steemit

in #vlog5 years ago

It all happened on the 16th of march 2019, i came online in the morning to carryout my normal activities on steemit in my hacked account @guchidan, after i finished all i intended doing i then logged out. In the evening i decided to come online and check what's going on in steemit only for me to see that my password was incorrect, at first i smiled thinking maybe it was a prank😂 😂, i went to the folder where i stored my password i did thorough check on it an noticed it was correct, then i went back to login again still yet it was showing me "INCORRECT PASSWORD" at this point my body just got weak as if i was a vegetable.
pexels-photo-269334.jpeg
pixels-photo

It wasn't funny because it's an account i have laboured with and all those struggles just ended up in one day. I felt really bad all i could think of at that moment was where have i gone wrong, i came into steemit very clueless on how the site operates, my friend who invited me into steemit didn't even take it serious, so you could imagine how ignorant i was about the platform but i still tried my best to discover new things everyday, thanks to all the members of
"PAY IT FORWARD" who have encouraged and assisted me one way or the other. They help in promoting bloggers who are yet to be recognized with their quality works. They help support minnows and if you have any questions they are ready to help, in "pay it forward" we all support each other, if only we can have more groups like this on discord and steemit the community would be a better place.
Back to my discussion after i encountered this problem i decided to open another account while i try to no the cause of the problem, because i didnt want to put all my eggs in one basket. That was how @iamguchidanart came about, i decided to use my youtube and instagram username. I was told to write an email to "STEEMIT SUPPORT" which i did and later got this message few hours later.
IMG_20190318_170929_888.jpg

Then someone asked me a question, that which key do i use in login my account, i told him i had just one key. All this while i have being using one key (MASTER KEY) to carryout all my activities on steem, and i never knew it was wrong because i was so ignorant about it. I used it for transactions also posting, upvoting, resteeming etc. When i realized this i felt demoralized because when you labour for something and then someone Jeopardises it, it can be so frustrating. But at that moment i just try to console my self because no one is above mistakes.
Few days later a friend of mine checked my profile and discovered that my funds in the account have being withdrawed through "blocktrades" that gave me enough confirmation that my account was truely hacked.
-Here is my former profile
IMG_20190323_132655_475.jpg
And this was the transaction that occurred in my old account.
IMG_20190323_134352_479.jpg
Well i don't know what joy and pleasure some people get in hacking other people's account it's so cruel and disheartening, by MAY 2019 that should be my 1 year of my existence on steemit, well we learn from our mistakes everyday i'm happy i'm back again.
This kinda thing can happen to anyone but i don't wish anybody bad, it has taught me to be very careful with my keys.

Thanks for checking my post, your comment and encouragement would do me good and if you have any suggestion for me please feel free to tell me.

stay tuned some artworks coming your way very soon.

I remain my humble self @iamguchidanart the realguchidan.

Sort:  

i think people should be more aware with this so, I am going to re steem it.In this world, there truly are truly evil people!

Hope you are fine, but we are in contact on Instagram.. 😉 Just wondering is this your main account now?

I am great dear, this is now my main account on steemit now, because i can't access my fomer account, i just decided to use the username i used in my instagram account with this one.

@iamguchidanart, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.

Congratulations @iamguchidanart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I sure would like to know exactly what site was responsible for leaking your password so I wouldn't use it myself.

Well i guess maybe its some of the wrong links i clicked, and also i was using my master key to login often that was how my key got compromised

Leave it behind you, you can be big again with the New learned rules!!

Offcourse you Made a capital mistake because you didnt know and now you are BACK and nothing is stopping you

So sorry to hear that - some people just don't have a heart :o

Thanks so much, it's just so sad we have such a thing in our generation this days.

Totally crappy. Sorry to hear it. There's always gonna be lazy people gritting to make an easy buck of the backs of other's hard work.

Posted using Partiko Android

This breaks my heart to read... how horrible. This is my worst fear...

I try to use my posting key as much as possible, but my question is- how did they change your password? Shouldn't the only be the 1?

Posted using Partiko Android

Your password can be changed using your master key. The thief somehow got this user's Master key and changed the passwords so he can steal his money without interference.

You should NEVER use your master key for carrying out any kind of activity in your account. The master key is literally your last back up to your account.

I learned this lesson pretty early when I first started out even if no one told me about it. The first rule of Steemit is to not lose your keys.

If you lose your posting key or active key, you can gain them back using your master key, but if you lose your master key, it's pretty much over.

All your progress and hardwork goes to trash and since Steemit is still in beta and they can't do much to help you recover it once you lose it.

My advice is to write all your passwords in a paper and hide it somewhere safe in your house so you don't lose it because of technical problems in your phone or computer or whatever.

But with that said, that experience taught you a valuable lesson and I hope you won't ever repeat that mistake again.

It really bothers me when I see people lose all their progress like that because I've experienced similar things in my life too.

Keep you keys safe. And your master key safer.

Thanks so much for those words, i honestly wished i was told all those during my early stage of steemit. But we learn lessons everyday, i am very careful now, thanks for your encourgement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55