DTube Isn't Leaving You Behind

in #vlog6 years ago


In this video I talk about what really matters for success on DTube, It's not about the quality of your footage it's about the quality in your footage. The quality of your story, your message, the value that only you can bring to the community.

Here are some creators proving my point: @flauwy @shaunonsite
I don't reference them in the video, but another great example is @exyle and also @nanzo-scoop who I started watching on YouTube and he and @captianbob are who inspired me to start doing DTube in the first place.

Thank you guys for doing what you do, keep spreading the good word.

DTube isn't leaving you behind, you just have to keep moving.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I totally agree with Jeff on this one. I myself went into debt in the early years of YouTube in order to own high-end equipment. I was lucky and things worked out fine for me. However, I knew a lot of guys that went out and bought high end equipment and weren't so fortunate. I can't believe how many people think that they can make great high quality videos just by having a really good camera and some good equipment. It actually takes quite a bit of education, patience, practice, planning, and talent. I've seen some people that just push ahead without trying to improve their videos and some of them are successful just because people are interested in the subject matter.

The fact of the matter is, putting extra effort into the story/presentation/subject/etc. will pay off. You will receive more upvotes, followers, and repeat views if you put your very best effort into your work.

Keep the videos coming Jeff!

Thank you! I saw the same thing. People will go out buy a Red Dragon and make unwatchably bad videos with it, and other people will use their Iphone and make a masterpiece.

Yeah, I'm sure that, you know, this kind of thinking happens in a lot of areas of life besides just the arts, but I'm a visual artist (I draw and rarely paint) and I partially convinced myself (and actually, partially was convinced by a teacher in a college I went to) that having more expensive supplies is something that was necessary in order to create good looking art. To an extent that is true, especially if you are a professional artist, but that belief that I needed expensive supplies just to begin with actually set me back a huge amount for various reason.

It gave me a feeling that I couldn't ever be an "artist" because I could never be able to afford the top of the line supplies. Of course I would also put some of my money towards buying nice supplies and be stressed and depressed at how much I was spending and then of course even when I went to try and make good works of art I’d be nervous about using too much paint or messing up on the expensive paper. It’s laughable how much this stupid way of thinking held me back.

Also, I think there was a dumb part of me that told myself that if I just had the nice art supplies somehow good work would follow, so when I would finally get the nice art supplies and get myself to try and make some artwork I’d look at my work and feel miserable and hopeless because it wouldn’t look very good. And the main reason it wouldn’t look very good was because I wasn’t getting enough practice on the actual making part of creating.

Thinking back to it now I'm amazed that something like that could get into my head because it seems like a completely ludicrous way of thinking and I see how I created so many stumbling blocks for myself. Like, especially when you are just starting out you are going to suck at whatever it is that you are setting out to do anyways. So your mindset should be on just practicing, creating, learning, getting better and as you get better, you can bring in more expensive equipment little by little. Why use expensive materials when you are only learning, you don't even have the skills learned enough yet or the knowledge to make proper use of the materials.

I'm using a Gopro ripoff action camera on my channel. :D Better that than nothing. :D

Whatever works! Some of those cameras are getting really nice these days... It's a great time to be alive and making videos. So much quality and ease of use for so little money!

Yes 100% true. To defend previous Jeff, a lot of the cell phone top dtubers are there because they built a following very early on in the platform. DTube will eventually get to the point of YouTube where it will be harder and harder to be noticed, so better equipment can get you the bigger headstart.

But everything is a marathon, so just make the videos that make you happy.

Thanks Kevin! It definitely helps, especially when it comes to audio, but if your content sucks it doesn't matter how high quality your equipment is. It's definitely best to have it all going though, and these days its sooo cheap to get great quality.

You re really making wave, admiring your effort

Thank you Peter! I'm glad you liked it!

hope Dtube attain its peak of success, we already started being a part of it.

It feels good to be early for once, not like trying to yell through the crowd on YouTube.

I wish I could say yeah and feel better but i just don't I literally just posted a vlog up about it. I am tired now with the effort im putting into the platform and the consistency and trying to get to know people and not getting the same in return.

I made videos for 2 years on YouTube, spent thousands of dollars, thousands of hours, and I made it nowhere. But I enjoyed every minute of it, I got a lot of experience in filmmaking, and had a lot of great adventures. If you love what you do it isn't work. I didn't make the videos to make a bunch of money, I did it because I loved watching them. I'm not making a living on steemit yet. I'm beyond broke, so when the bills come due I work harder. I cold call random people looking for video work, or I fix up old motorcycles and sell them. And occasionally I have to sell some of my equipment to get by. My Dad used to tell me all the time "Don't put all your eggs in one basket" If you aren't making enough money from steemit, make money from something else too. If you can't find anything locally, there's loads of online jobs, online stores, etc. When life pushes on you the hardest, you have to be smarter, work harder, and push back. I know it seems impossible sometimes, but you can do it. You can always dig deeper and fight your way out. You've got this.

Jeff please accept my apology for my stroppy comment when all you did was produce a great and helpful video, I happened to have watched it at the wrong time and I should not have posted such a comment I am sorry and thank you for the detailed response.

What a message! "Do the thing and you will have the power." That's my favorite quote and you just said that in your own words. Everything worth doing is worth not being good at in the beginning.

Thanks @gabbyg86 well said, I love it!

well videos are only in 480p . not liking giving us good options yet

Its pretty nice looking 480 though, haha! Have you seen YouTubes 480p video? On DTube You can actually click on the "480p" thing and hit "source" and see it in it's original resolution, but it doesn't always stream smoothly at full res.

I think this world is always about working hard and never giving up on what you want.
Thanks for the advice and vibes.
I will surly abide by that and try

I think so too, thanks man! Glad I could help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85