[Vlog] 5000 followers; $5 STEEM, $1bn mcap breached; Steem's Decentralised treasury

in #vlog6 years ago

New Year landmark

It was only 5 months ago that I did my very first vlog to mark 2000 Steemit followers. Now I've kicked off the New Year by hitting 5000 followers. Crazy stuff! One of my aims for the New Year is to carve out (even) more time to engage with commenters in terms of replies and upvotes.

I truly apppreciate only that takes the time to not only consume my content but to provide constructive feedback (both positive and negative).

Steeming On!

I can't remember who I was speaking to but a couple of days ago I was musing on which crypto would experience a "New Year's Day" bounce. It felt kind of inevitable. I had no idea it would be STEEM getting a pump!

This bounce is a great tonic for everyone holding STEEM and Steem Power. Better to start the year hitting all-time highs than all-time lows.

I like this ATH more than the last for a couple of reasons. Firstly, we no longer have the crazy inflation of over 100% pa. New STEEM is currently being emitted at a far more reasonable 9% pa and falling. STEEM is a lot more scarce and I would expect less sell pressure than last time.

Secondly the Steem platform has matured in terms of reward distribution. The last ATH saw the top getting rewards in the tens of thousands. As of now it looks like we'll be lucky to see top posts hitting $1k without a significant increase further in the price. This is probably due to three reasons. (1) Whales self-regulating how they reward content. (2) Steem Power being better distributed (3) there being a lot more quality contributors worthy of and receiving rewards.

It's a slow grind and reward distribution is not perfect, but it's getting there. The more people that are on-boarded, the better it will get.

Steem flirts

I think it is easy to under-sell how many people own some Steem at the moment. I know many people that flirted with Steem for a few weeks, earned some Steem, didn't quite understand how the money worked (or get the amounts they were hoping for) and forgot about it. For many their Steem accounts will be worth 20 times more than when they last left it. Invariably those people will be back posting; kicking themselves that they didn't stick with it and allocate just 30 minutes a day of their social media downtime to a platform that actually gives them something back for their engagement.

Billion dollar club

Another big milestone hit on New Years day was STEEM hitting a marketcap in excess of 1 billion dollars. This is a great psychological milestone reached.

It seems ludicrous that a coin with 1 million transactions a day is languishing behind other coins that are either little more than a pipe dream or have zero traction in terms of actual users.

Decentralised treasury

I had some downtime on New Years day so watched a video on Cardano by Charles Hokinson. I wanted to find out what all the hype.was abouy. While it was interesting I wasn't blown away nor hit by any major "ah ha!" moments. It was different/ similar approaches to the same problems. Some of which they were 'thinking' about how to tackle.

One of which was sustainability and funding development/ innovation. He talked about implementing a treasury similar to Dash.

I think Steem has the best, most efficient, streamlined method of funding. The 'proof-of-brain' protocol where the community upvotes content it deems valuable seems the most sustainable way of funding innovation without layers of bureaucracy.

Vlog

Any way here is a vlog I did on this morning. Apologies for the sweating! I had just finish showering after my first workout of the New Year... Although my wife would say I always breakout into sweating fits after 5 minutes with the baby!

Sort:  

Nice thoughts! I certainly think people (Steem flirts!) will be drawn back into posting again. I analysed that point for December and already with $3 Steem there was a very significant volume of posters returning.

It's potentially a virtuous cycle, steem rising, increasing new posters and returning posters, bringing more demand for steem. It's a great moment to engage with people you haven't seen before on the blockchain and make them feel at home!

@miniature-tiger, good evening :)

Did you spot in any number crunching an increase in 'old' account returning, as well as a rise in new registrations?

Cheers!

Hey Asher!

Yes, it's in this one - fourth chart down:
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@miniature-tiger/steem-s-fair-weather-friends-december-update-on-user-retention-numbers

"...we can see a huge number of accounts (11.5k) returned to posting in December after being inactive in November."

It's a pretty large number in relation to the total number of active posters. There's some nice anecdotes in the comments as well from people who have come back to posting.

Great! Thanks, i thought I'd seen something. That is a large number of brains returning prove their worth isn't it :)

Very true!

Happy new year @nanzo-scoop

I think you hit the nail on the head in the New Years blog with regards to 'growing allegiance' and peoples faith in particular coins becoming stronger.

It seems ludicrous that a coin with 1 million transactions a day is languishing behind other coins that are either little more than a pipe dream or have zero traction in terms of actual users.

I'm hoping many have picked Steem, because it excels in multiple areas, and will make 2018 a cracker for us all.

Apologies for not introducing myself at Steemfest, that was a wild ride of 'what the hell I am doing here / this is awesome, I don't know what's going on!'

As my 'punishment', I've curated your blog a little.

Cheers!

Asher

Happy New Year to you also. Hopefully we'll get to speak at Steemfest 3!

Cheers, good plan!

Hi @nanzo-scoop! Your little girl is so adorable. With her along with your cool accent, great smile and Steem veteran insights, I have no doubt you'll blow past 10K in no time. 🚀 In all seriousness, thanks for sharing about the early days.

That was a great surprise this morning, to see the Steem price!! And you're right about the "Steem flirts" - many might come back and begin posting again. But maybe this had to happen (for them) so they come back with a new commitment to the platform.

However the 'flirts' realise that consistency is the key to success on Steemit as it is elsewhere in life. Keep grinding and you'll reap the rewards in the end.

i feel that steem and the steem blockchain is finally getting the love and attention that it truly deserves. like you said, transaction level but also the fastest blockchain in the world most days -- certainly feels like a great start to the year. super positive feelings right now! :)

Same boat here! Or is it a Lambo?! Ok, feet back on the ground, for a few more years at least :)

hmm, now a boat is a nice idea :)

I remember your first vlog and you are doing great. You had a great 2017 and I am excited to see you grow in 2018. I'm super excited we're in the billion dollar club. I will also be hitting up my Steem Flirts today and tell them to get back on.

I hope you have a very happy new year and I deeply appreciate all the support you've given me. Thank you!

Hahhaa...I'm sure the steem flirts had it well in other coins. One can't just have it all, it's all about alternative forgone. But steem is too precious to just forego like that without having loads of it. Now, just like you, sir, I foresee an increase in number of people coming on-board. Which will continue to be a big push for steem.

Congrats on hitting 5K Mahh Man! Many more are coming your way! Stay positive and awesome! Much love! Btw, Happy New Year!:)

Hey! Happy New Year to you too!

Happy New Year, my friend @nanzo-scoop!

Happy New Year to you too! Lovely picture!

Congratulations @nanzo-scoop bro!
Keep up the great work and Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01