You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vocab-ability–183 (plac, pleas = pleasant, favorable) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #vocab-ability6 years ago

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. I feel placated when I hear colorful language and an expanded vocabulary used in conversation.

  2. I'm not sure why, but it just sounds pleasant to me when less-common words are using in lieu of plain/basic ulterior choices.

  3. I'm pleased to help others expand their own vocabulary, and hope to influence the lexicon.

  4. I'm a little worried by how complacent the newer generations are with making up new words (aka slang) when there are perfectly fitting choices already in existence, if they could only expand their vocabulary (via preexisting words, not made-up slang) and think outside the common lexicon.

  5. Despite that worry I remain placid, for the evolution of the lexicon requires new words to come into existence. I just wish some of today's slang didn't sound so dumb.

Sort:  


Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95