How To Expand Your Vocabulary With Your Amazon Kindle, Contributed by @Shenanigator

in #vocabulary6 years ago

I've owned an Amazon Kindle for quite a while and have done a moderate amount of reading on it. I noticed that I write better when I'm consistently reading talented authors, so I'm trying to make it a point to read more.

Most of the time I've owned my Kindle, it has mostly just been used for reading. It wasn't until recently that I started to familiarize myself with some of the other many things you can do with a Kindle. One of my favorite features in the Vocabulary Builder.

As you're reading, when you come across a word you don't know, you can tap and hold on that word to pull up the definition from your dictionary (that you should have downloaded on your device.)


IMG_4657.JPG


That's pretty cool in itself, but it gets better. After you do this, that word is automatically added into your "Vocabulary Builder."

To access your Vocabulary Builder:

  1. Go to the main menu
  2. Click on the 3 dots in the top-right corner
  3. Click "Vocabulary Builder"

IMG_4658.JPG


Following these steps should bring up this screen:


IMG_4659.JPG


From here, to help you build your vocabulary, you can choose individual words to see their definitions.

Or, better yet, you can click "Flashcards" down at the bottom of the screen. These flashcards are an awesome feature to help you learn the words you didn't know when reading your books.


IMG_4660.JPG


IMG_4661.JPG


When you're studying the flashcards, you can see the definition (shown immediately above) or you can see how the word was used in the book you read (shown 2 photos above with the word "Forthcoming")

When you're confident that you've learned a word, you can click "Mark as Mastered" to move it from your "Learning" section into your "Mastered" section.

If you later need to relearn a word, you can always move it back into your "Learning" list.


IMG_4662.JPG


I hope this tip will help you use your Kindle more effectively and build your vocabulary faster. What are your favorite features of your Kindle?

Sort:  

This are a very useful feature. I have never really used this feature of kindle before which is a shame. If I have known of this I could have save time googling when I ran into difficult words. Now that I know how to use this feature, reading should be more enjoyable . Thanks for the advice.

I always liked the old school reading , however I download kindle pc version for an e-book I bought from amazon , is this feature available on that one too ? Sorry I'm slighlty lazy to check

My, how handy! :)

Very interesting post, the expansion of a vocabulary plays a key role in the communication skills of everybody.

great post looks fascinating app! :^D

it's a great help for people who don't much know how to read, does it talks? what I mean is, could the app say the pronunciation of the word just like in google? either way, it's a great app for deep words.

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Congratulations @communitycoin, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1071 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5764.36. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95