Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. I would love to get a sense of the cost of healthcare in the Philippines. For example, do you have an idea of the estimated cost of a hip replacement is? I realize that is a tricky number to be accurate on, but in the USA it is about $50K and I have been able to compare that against hospital facilities in Guadalajara, Mexico where the cost works out to more like $6-7K. My guess is that the Philippines is probably much like Mexico in terms of cost. Is that the case?

I am guessing it is similar to Mexico too @k0d3g3ar but I am honestly not 100% sure. I can give you another example though.


My wife entered labor early at 32 weeks and we found out about it during her weekly checkup. The doctor recommended that we hospitalize her so that they could delay the birth as much as possible.

So we hospitalized @emaferice in Davao Doctors Hospital, one of the best, if not the best hospitals in our area. She was given medicine to prevent contractions, remained in bedrest and was monitored 24 hours a day.

All-in-all, she was in bedrest for 13 days and our son was in the NICO for 5 days after that. Immediately after the birth, we stayed in their Presidential Suite for a couple days and that was a large part of the bill.

I was also staying in the hospital while my wife was hospitalized, and my wife and I stayed together in the hospital in one of their rooms while our son was in the NICU.

The bill was roughly $4,500 - $5,000 USD since we didn't enroll in health insurance ahead of time. I also forgot to mention that my wife got an epidural.


I don't know how much this would cost in the United States but I think I'd have to declare bankruptsy afterwords if I wanted to experience this in the United States without health insurance.


P.S. I hope this helps. If you know how much this would cost in the United States, please let me know!


Not sure if this is a realistic guide but my father-in-law was staying with us from Australia about 6 years ago, and had to be taken to the emergency room for a liver operation. It wasn't a huge operation, but it required 3 nights of hospital stay afterwards. The bill was about $2K for the surgeons, etc. and about $35K for the hospital. So I am thinking about $10K per night is a guide. That would put your wife's entire procedure, NICU costs & hospital stay at about $200K all up. Considering what you paid, that works out to about 2.5% of the US price. It is a pretty attractive proposition if you can plan out hospitalization.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86