BINTAN CAMP!

in #volunteer6 years ago

My school organized a Bintan Camp for School of Health Sciences only, which consist of the Nursing students, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, dental hygiene students and Social work students. 


Around 400 of us participated in the Bintan Camp to have fun in various activities and also to help out in one of the Bintan schools. 

Forever with the kitties around me.. hahaha!


This is my team! woohoo! our group is huge! :D most of them are nursing students!


Hehe, the nursing lecturer also helps to paint the walls of the classroom too!


I was shocked when we came to the school and was told to split up into two groups. First group will do the painting and cleaning first while the 2nd group will conduct activities/games for the children. I was quite frustrated as the person in charge/the lecturer did not inform us to plan for the games/activities. As most of them are nursing students and do not have experience in conducting games for the children, I decided to take the initiative and lead the group activity. It was quite challenging as I had to speak in Indonesian and this was very impromptu. I led the group into doing a Hokey pokey dance and also to play mother-hen. There are other games that we played too. I feel that we could have been more prepared if they informed us earlier so that we can delegate the Malay students to be in charge of each subgroup. However, I am glad the children have fun interacting with us!


Our boat-netting activity! Ready to jump!


Sun tanning~ love it when the boat moves and we are inside the net like we are in a washing machine >.<


We even climbed the coconut tree! oh yeah! the locals over there can climb the tree without the climbing gear on.. impressive!


Our team name is GO JE! which is a Malay slang/term for "JUST DO IT!" cos some of our group members may have fear of heights etc, so we use this term to encourage one another to just do it! without hesitating! :D #teammotivation!


Our Kayaking Activity! SO MUCH FUNNNN!


Mealtimes are the best! cos the food is so awesomeeee and DELICIOUS! :P YUMMYYYYY

Overall, it was an incredible experience, knowing more friends from my school, even though I have to separate from my SOCIAL WORK friends but it is okay! we learn from one another and have an enjoyable and a memorable experience at BINTAN CAMP! :D below is a photo that my social work friends and I took on our LAST DAY OF CAMP! <3

Sort:  

i was quite frustrated as the person in charge/the lecturer did not inform us to plan for the games/activities.

hahahah that's right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56