Vote!!! Are You Sure About That? ~ #notreally

in #vote6 years ago

It's apparently that time again. Vote! Vote! Vote! I don't follow the political charades anymore, but I can't ignore the incessant "Vote or die!" mantras taking up most of my FB feed, from both sides.

It's your duty to vote!

Get out and vote!

If you don't vote you can't complain! and so on.

IMG_3029.jpg

Does he really want everyone to go vote? Even those that would vote against his candidate?

So I posed a question to a 20 year old female co-worker of mine who leans left and hates Trump. I first asked her if she was one of these people who thinks people should go out and vote? She replied yes. I then asked her this question, which if you agree with her on the premise that people should go vote, then I would appreciate your honest answer as well in the comments section. The question is this...

If you are a liberal, democrat, anyone who leans left on the political spectrum, and you have the floor in an auditorium full of 1000 people, you say to them loud and clear, go vote!!! And after saying this, all 1000 people stand up and state loud and clearly that they will go vote, and that they are all voting republican. Knowing this, do you still want them to vote?

If you are a conservative, republican, anyone who leans right on the political spectrum, and you have the floor in an auditorium full of 1000 people, you say to them loud and clear, go vote!!! And after saying this, all 1000 people stand up and state loud and clearly that they will go vote, and they are all voting democrat. Knowing this, do you still want them to vote?

I wasn't surprised by my co-workers answer, in fact I knew that she would not want the 1000 conservatives to vote, as that would go against her beliefs and preferences.

It makes the voting chattel look and feel good about spreading their supposed belief in civic duties, but in all reality, they don't want everyone to vote. Just the ones who will vote in favor of their candidate.

If you're one of these people screaming go vote!, at least be honest about your intentions. Knowing now that you want some people not to vote.

Instead of saying go vote!, you really should be saying "Vote for X candidate because they align most with my ideas and preferences that I think should be forced on you at gunpoint and if you don't agree that my candidate is the best then you shouldn't vote".

But that doesn't have quite the same nice ring to it that 'go vote!' has, so I doubt it will catch on.

Thanks for reading and if you have the guts to be honest about your stance, please feel free to write your mind in the comments. Peace and love.

Sort:  

Well said brother 👌👏👏👏👏.

I am an anarchist and am against voting that can not be voluntarily opted out of.

good timing for this article as well. I shared it to facebook!

Thanks for the share, much appreciated!

I hear you. I cannot stand Trump. But I am an Independent. So either way I can honestly say I hope ALL eligible people get out and vote

I appreciate your honesty, even if I disagree that voting makes a lick of difference in our every day lives.
Curious, as I too considered myself independent/libertarian, what issues do you favor/disagree with regarding the two parties? Not looking to argue, just wondering where you stand on certain issues as I said, I too considered myself as you do.

true enlightenment is realizing that forcing someone to live by my personal inclinations is just as evil as them forcing me to live by theirs. That is why I will never vote again.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 197 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64