You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Partisanship and Gridlock – A Solution

in #voting6 years ago

I heard this discussed on NPR they were interviewing the lady running the program in Maine.
It definitely beats our current system.
I just wonder how it would work if human laziness got factored in.
I think it's high time we were able to vote using our smart phones and some type of two factor authentication set up when you register. If people didn't have to view voting as standing in line clutching your newsprint catalogue of candidates and hoping that there's not a long line, then careful decisions might be made.

Sort:  

Hmm, interesting. Not that I disagree with you that you should be able to vote from your phone (no difference between than and an absentee ballot, in my opinion), but I question if opening it up like that would make people more thoughtful. My gut feeling is that people would put less thought into their decisions if you can do it between games of candy crush on the toilet 😆

Good point :p
I guess when I'm on my phone I'm mostly doing reading and research but I'm probably not in the majority on that.
I do think that it could increase voter turnout however especially if coupled with a system where people didn't feel obliged to vote for a candidate they don't favor.

Yeah I’d say you’re most definitely in the minority there!

My real fear would be that someone would figure out some kind of macro or app you could download that just voted straight ticket with the click of a button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87