Content in VR Games - Sometimes Shorter can be Better

in #vr6 years ago

VRMashUp.png

One of the complaints that many VR gamers have is that the content of VR games is often much shallower that that of traditional PC and console games. The stories are shorter and the characters are not as developed, and there are more arcade style games and quick shooters. As someone who is not a dedicated gamer (Though I did have my stretch of World of Warcraft obsession back in the day) and likes to play things casually, I actually find the VR content preferable.

It's great to be able to pickup a game, be able to learn all of the controls and dynamics in a few minutes, play for a half hour, and then put it down and forget it for a week or two. Some of the games I've really enjoyed so far have been Edge of Nowhere, Chronos, and Obduction, and none of them are huge AAA productions.

Pierhead Arcade

But some of my favorite games are the actual arcades. The game Pierhead Arcade is incredibly simple yet some of the most fun I've had in VR. It places you in an arcade on pier that you can teleport around and you have unlimited tokens. There a shooting gallery, basketball game, whack-a-mole, the crane game, and all sorts of other traditional arcade games.

The app is great for when I introduce friends to VR for the first time, because they already know how to play the arcade games. It's pretty hilarious to watch them flail around in the headset while they swing at popup moles or try to shoot hoops.

Sort:  

Good point about the length of games. I’ve tried oculus twice, and HTC vive once. I like the games where you are underwater or in space. To be honest I don’t even care if they are games or just experiences. Immersing yourself for a few minutes in a different world is very refreshing and enjoyable. It’s good as an escape. i wouldn’t want to be immersed for very long, for that would defeat the purpose of the ‘escape’.

Very true, it's freeing to jump in and out, and if I play too long it kinda dulls the wonder of it, especially with experiences.

I've got a Rift CV1 with just a basic 2 sensor setup. (That's stock art in the title picture)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77