MY CRUSH

in #wafrica6 years ago

The outfit "Agbada" is one of the names for a flowing wide sleeved robe worn by men in much of West Africa , and to a lesser extent in North Africa.
The origin of it's nomenclature can be traced down to the Yoruba culture in the western part of Nigeria.
The Hausa's also put this outfit on and call it "babban riga"
e2-2.jpg
[This is me,wore that to my birthday on 4th July]

Agbada is decorated with embroidery and comes in different styles and sizes.
It is worn religiously and ceremoniously.
It was originally worn by men but it has female versions in Senegal,Mali,Guinea,Gambia and Nigeria.
Silk was originally used in making the outfit but today,cotton,synthetic clothes and danshiki material can be used in making it.

FB_IMG_1531702451500.jpg

[My Cousin and Her Husband on the marriage ceremony to her Yoruba husband]

Tall or short,fat or slim,there is a desogn of Agbada that looks just perfect on any wearer.
Short sleeves,long sleeves, a good tailor will get you a perfect one.
e2-5.jpg
[The excitement was too obvious]

Ever since I saw Ladies look so good in agbada, especially the original patteren,I began to crush on it.
To mark my birthday this year,I decided to get one for myself and that made me crush on agbada even more.
FB_IMG_1531703573625.jpg
[😍I crushed!!! Couldn't help it.]

I am an AkwaIbomite and I believe in unity in diversity.
In that spirit,I felt like getting myself a Yoruba/Hausa/West African attire.
It had nothing to do with Christianity or Islam this time,it had everything to do with a One Nigeria and a Great Africa.
I smile widely when I imagine how beautiful my Africa is.
FB_IMG_1531703492190.jpg

[Think of Africa! Think of Greatnes!
Be African Be Great!]

Thanks so much to my friend and photographer Emmanuel the brain behind the extraordinary
Smagic Photography

SOURCE
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agbada

Thanks to you for reading to the end.
Your comments and upvotes are welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71