Happy mothers day to all mothers

in #wafrica5 years ago

A SHORT STORY

young-depressed-young-woman-crying-girlfriend-supporting-her_1163-4411.jpg
Source

She held the mother's cloth in her hands and started weeping, she wept bitterly for hours with no one being able to console or control her.
"Dear,(said one of her neighbour) you have to take it easy, it's been long since she left this world. what should matter to you right now is the fact that she loved you very much"

"That's the problem, knowing that she loved me very much is the reason why I can't stop crying, because I grew up thinking that she never wanted the best for me"

Everyone kept quite and was listening to her, so she continued

"Back then when I was sixteen, she always nags me about the kind of friends I keep and how I lived my life"

young-woman-arguing-with-mother_23-2147788285.jpg
Source

"I thought she had no right to say those words to me because i was no longer a kid, so I always end up arguing with her".
" One day, the argument became too much that I decided to leave the house" and move in with my friends ".

"She tried to stop me but I didn't let her, so she had no choice but to let me go".

"Few months after I left the house, I got a call from our neighbour, Mr frank, who told me that my mum has just been rushed to the hospital, and that she wants to see me".

" i immediately rushed to the hospital,but before I got there, She was already gone". Mr frank told me everything that happened while I was away"
"He told me how she cried herself to sleep everyday ever since I left the house".
"I felt sour and guilty at the same time", because I wasn't even there to share her last moment with her".

"Few weeks after her death, I went to the pub with my friends to drink and forget my pain.
"We were still drinking when we noticed the cops coming our direction".
" I didn't really pay much attention to them, but when they got to us, they asked me to hand over my bag to them, which I innocently did".
"But the next thing I knew, was cuffs on my hands, I was shocked and I demanded to know the reason why I was cuffed, and they showed me an expensive bracelet which was found in my bag" they said the owner, came to make a report about it missing yesterday.

man-palms-hands-isolated-white-with-handcuff_38076-772.jpg
Source
And they asked me how I got it.
"I told them it was given to me by my friend Brenda before we left the house this morning".
"they asked Brenda if it was true, and she immediately said no".
" I looked at her but she looked away" I asked her to tell them the truth, but she still kept calm, same with the rest of our friends sitting there".

Few months later, inside my cell room( I was talking to myself)

young-women-bars-cell_2379-1563.jpg
Source

"My mum always warned me about my friends but I didn't listen and thinking about the way I always fought with her whenever she brought up the topic about my friends, make me wanna skin myself alive right now" I have failed her as a daughter. And this is how am paying for it. how I wish I could get a second chance, I would make great use of it".

she came back to reality, 10yrs later when she was already out of the cell.
she continued sobbing bitterly and the neighbours around tried to console her

Mother's are rare gem given to us by God, But it's only left for us to know that before it's too late. They always pray for us because they want the best for us. They nag us because they love us, so don't get mad when she nags you but rather just smile and tell her you love her, because they are some people who no longer have the opportunity to see their mum, but they wish to.

background-hand-drawn-mother-with-baby_23-2147613857.jpg
Source
HAPPY MOTHERS DAY TO ALL MOTHERS 😘😘😘❤️❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stephanieo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @stephanieo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68