Unfettered Thoughts At Dawn

in #wafrica6 years ago

image
Image Source: Pixabay

It is one of those days you wake up pondering on issues bordering on you - your visions, ideas, dreams, where you were, where you are and where you want to be. I woke up today feeling that way. A complicated feeling of nostalgia, optimism and uncertainty all interwoven together.

I was nostalgic when I glanced through my early years. The years I was celebrated and envied by many as a star kid. Those days when We used to have outstanding performance academically. We used to be good, very good in sporting activities. The days of glory. We used to have very big dreams. Once, I envisaged myself building houses for people in my community; those who do not have the money to get houses for themselves. The days I used to read about Kofi Annan, Nelson Mandela and other prominent world leaders. I used to try modelling myself after them, thump my chest and tell myself I would be at the same platform as those men.

The feeling of optimism immediately shrouded that of nostalgia. The future is bright, I giggled to myself. I would soon have a medical degree and I would become a medical doctor. I have tried to acquire leadership skills and qualities over the years. And as a young man, I always get for myself whatever I want except on few occasions. That means the future is even brighter. I have also tried to establish contacts with some people that matter in the polity. I saw myself fulfilling every bit of my dreams. In fact, the picture was so clear that I curled up in my bed, refusing to wake up.

The mood did not last. The good feeling waned when feeling of uncertainty tried to creep in. At a point, the future seemed so bleak. What I was scared of, I could not tell. That voice I dread so much constantly reminded me how the government of my country does not plan for the youth. It told me that many have had greater abilities, resources and put in more effort without actualizing anything. A picture of millions of unemployed youth immediately opened in my unseen mind. I remembered how broke I can be sometimes. I remembered that the society, even those who claim to love you have little regard for you when you do not have money. I was full of apprehension.

At the end, I reconciled myself by myself. I cherished those dreams and the optimism I exuded that they would come to pass. How about the uncertainty that things may go awry? I did not totally wish it away. My duty now lies in working hard to ensure the long claws of those uncertainties do not stretch to me. The ball is in my court.

I was motivated to share it here. I think this is true for everyone of us. It is neither too late nor too early to achieve those dreams of ours. The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago, the other best time is now. Our world is moving fast, we have to move with it, this is our chance.

I am @winningman

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @winningman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @winningman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61