#WalkWithMe Wildflowers On West Oakley Spur

in #walkwithme5 years ago

20190309_160903~2.jpg

I love how the heavy rains have transformed the foothills into vivid palettes of green and gold! I treated myself and my dog to walking the West Oakley Spur / Daley Canyon Truck Trail.

Screenshot_20190310-164414_MapMyHike.jpg

20190309_141827.jpg

It begins with a steady climb above the north end of San Bernardino, with great views of Arrowhead Springs.
(More info on the historic Arrowhead Springs here https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@creationofcare/walkwithme-in-daley-canyon )

20190309_142515.jpg

If you notice, the pic above got photobombed by a butterfly. The foothills are full of them!

20190309_142515~2.jpg

Wildflowers cascade over the eroded slopes between the thick grasses.

20190309_142115~2.jpg

Further up, the trail winds along the north face above Strawberry Creek. The chapparal thickens, and right now the White Ceanothus Greggi is in full bloom!

20190309_143323.jpg

20190309_143317~2.jpg

Its common name is Buckthorn, and true to its name, deer trail was heavy.

20190309_144205~2.jpg

The cloudscape struck a glorious contrast with the green hills.

20190309_144340.jpg

20190309_152017~2.jpg

20190309_154507.jpg

20190309_154511~2.jpg

I could even see the snowcapped peak of San Jacinto in the distance.

20190309_155852~2.jpg

But here are the wildflowers in all their dazzling display!

20190309_160915~2.jpg

20190309_155936~2.jpg

20190309_160003~2.jpg

20190309_160003~3.jpg

20190309_160413~2.jpg

20190309_160705~2.jpg

20190309_160854~2.jpg

20190309_160955~2.jpg

20190309_162216~2.jpg

Hope these beauties brightened your day!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Looks like you live in a beautiful neck of the woods with so much green and colorful flowers. Butterflies are a good sign telling us the eco balance is right. I know this as we don't have very many around anymore telling us something is not right.

Hello and thank you. Yes, the invertebrates do indicate what is going on in the ecosystem. I am so happy that the butterflies are showing up fullforce to pollinate all the wildflowers locally this season! Hope your area recovers and that folks join together to maybe prioritize butterfly gardens etc. Xoxo

I look out for them every year and it is the small things that give you the signs that things are wrong. I can remember we used to have Chameleons in our gardens when I grew up and now the only ones I see are in pet shops. It is sad that the environment gets affected by what we do.

Totally agree. It must have been amazing to have wild chameleons around. The flip side is that things are also positively affected by the positive things we do. It may be tiny but it is significant. All my best to you

Incredible. And I love the flower. Photo has a lot of details.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! I credit my Samsung Note 8 for capturing really nice macros. Way better than the naked eye! Cheers!

You're lucky to have such a wonderful place near you. Spring is the most beautiful season as all we get to see nature waking up and as you've showed us on your photos, beautiful flowers starting to bloom. I've recognized some of the flowers, I had them on my balcony garden. The yellow gazania daisy is absolutely gorgeous. It was a pleasure reading your post and admiring your photos, we still need a month or two till flowers start to bloom.

You're so right on, I feel extremely fortunate to have this beautiful place nearby, just above the city, and that Nature provides a dazzling spectacle for everyone <3

All my best to you and yours

Make the most of it, admire it as much as you can till it lasts and pray they don't destroy it. Wishing you a wonderful day and all the best as well to you and to your loved ones :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you, I appreciate that!!!

Hi creationofcare,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

WOW! Thank you so much, @curie, what a gift to wake up to this morning!!!

Sunflowers are my favourite with their bright yellow colour adding to the beauty hope the beautiful scenary made your day.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love them, too. I planted some commercial sunflowers in my yard, but they never hold a candle to the wild ones <3

This is such a beautiful landscape. Everything is green and lush and all those flowers make it look very pretty. My favorite is the photo with the combination of hills and snowy mountains in the back - I like this kind of contrast. It's like you would be looking at different season of a year in one photo.

Did you go for a hike or what is just a walk around the place to take some photos?

Thank you for sharing and I wish you a lovely start of the week!

Thanks so much. I love this midwinter season for the very reasons you describe. I kind of want to spin around, arms outstretched, squawking "The hills are alive with the sound of muuuuuuusic!"

It's an old forest road slowly being reclaimed by the elements. I did a 6 mile loop gaining 1200 feet of altitude, bit of a hike :)

Thanks again and have a blessed day!

That's an amazing amount of green for that area, @creationofcare. I've been in the San Bernadino areas before, and I don't remember much more than dust and brown. :) I guess the winter and early spring brings out the color. I would also imagine there's been some rain there recently.

Great images of the flowers and the slopes. Very vibrant.

Congratulations on the curie, too!

Yes indeed, this place comes alive briefly with the rains, then it all turns back to hay. Although the actual chaparral is evergreen and there is almost always something in bloom even if only grasses or tree catkins....
Thanks so much!

This is beautiful! I so love flowers and you have shown beautiful photos of them. True enough, there are more awesome things in nature. More of these , please.

I love flowers too, thanks so much for enjoying them with me :) I love finding natural gems wherever I go <3

Beautiful post. I could relate to the story as I also live in one of the most flowery hills of the world. Those flowers are lovely and that peak of San jacinto & its surrounding makes a great show.

Thanks for sharing and have a great day! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

So happy my humble hills have that effect! Following now to see your side of the world. Much love and thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98