#walkwithme : North Parade, Aberystwyth, mid wales

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

I really liked the colour of the sky as against the shadows and decaying colours and lines on the spirelet.

As always I took the photo on my mobile. It was about 7:10pm and I was waiting for @tinygalaxy. From what I recall (the designer outlet) Laura Ashley's used to be located in that corner, but I think it's closed now and Tesco express took its place.

I don't really know much about architecture, but I've always admired the look of some of these buildings and how old buildings stand side by side new ones which are often built to copy old ones.

This is an area of Aberystwyth called Sgwâr Owain Glyndŵr Square and Siop Y Pethe sells Welsh language books amongst many other interesting things. They also run Clwb Clonc. If you're learning Welsh, you can practise with local volunteers - gwych! ( = great!). It's in the same area also known as Rhodfa'r Gogledd or North Parade.

I discovered that the red brick was brought to the area when the railway arrived during the 1860's. I was fortunate to find this pdf by CADW, which researches and looks after historical sites in this area.

@mivstar keeps telling to take the photos 'landscape' rather than 'portrait'... sometimes I just have to take them the 'wrong way' for effect.



all photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

My moms maiden name was Welsh. That's all the Welsh I know haha. Very nice photos. Looks like a lovely day with the blue sky. I like areas that have some commitment to maintaining the historical architectural styles.

Thank you @steven-patrick. The weather has been extremely dry for a while so it was still light driving back home around 10 pm !

Lovely to see some photographs of Aberystwyth @crypocariad. It's been a good few years since I was there but I have many happy memories of that general area. 😊

Thanks @gillianpearce... Just a couple of photos from part of that area because I was really keen on the architectural detail - it was a very pleasant evening :D

Thanks for sharing the photos @cryptocariad. The buildings and street looks pretty and historical. It must be a nice place to walkabout.

Thanks @marblely. As you can see it was also quite empty of people at the time so it was quite peaceful considering it was a Friday night... :D

Oo.. I was wondering, it looks pretty quiet there too. Where are the people? Aah.. Friday night, that explains it :)

It's normally really busy on a Friday night though @marblely... I wonder whether some people where at the beach which is around 6 minutes from there. Also, it must be a bit empty because the university students have gone home for their summer holidays...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00