What I've Been Doing While Not Posting; A Beautiful Moment of Solitude

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Mullica3.jpg

I figured this time was coming. After a few months of avid Steeming, my summer routine began and suddenly I can't seem to find my way to a computer. This is just one of the many small details of my life that make me feel incredibly lucky.

My wife and I are in a charmed period of our lives. Our children are 8 and 6, old enough that we can really enjoy activities as a family, like going for long bike rides, hikes in the woods, camping trips . . .

Last weekend took us to Atsion Lake in the Wharton State Forest of Southern New Jersey. This is essentially our back yard, as a quick 30-minute drive down some secondary highways takes us from our congested little suburban town to gorgeous wilderness. We joined some good friends along with their kids for some old fashioned car camping. There was a threat of violent thunderstorms all week, and we came close to canceling, but our great luck would have that we barely got a sprinkle, along with some brief periods of gray. And even more luck, the temperatures barely reached 80 degrees, and dipped into the 50s at night, making for rare perfect camping weather. Here in south Jersey it could easily already be in the 90s, and as I write this we are already creeping toward 100.

As much fun as the camping was with 7 other adults and 7 kids, this post is really about a little time I stole for myself. Earlier in the day I ferried some of the gang across Atsion Lake to the swimming beach in my 1931 Old Town. That evening I went to retrieve the canoe from the launch, but the stillness at that time of day was captivating, and I couldn't resist a quick solo paddle upstreem.

IMG_1277.JPG

This is a truly beautiful, more or less wild, river (just one damn at the south end of the lake). It is a 50.6 (81.4km) river that originates in central Camden County near the town of Berlin, and winds through the vast Pine Barrens, eventually making it all the way to the Atlantic Ocean. During the upper sections it is often barely a canoe-length wide, and requires a fair amount of technical skill to navigate. Our campsite was on the upper end of the lake, so my little journey took me from the wide open and up into where it begins to narrow again.

IMG_1276.JPG

The gray sky gave the scene a softness bordering on bleak, and with a total lack of wind left the water was glassy and black. The rivers in this region are all filled with "cedar water," a phenomenon caused by the tannins in the roots of the prolific cedar trees that leech into the water. Strangers to the area tend to assume the water is dirty, but it is actually quite clean, just with a color of brewed tea.

IMG_1286.JPG

Lots of pond lilies and grass growing in the still areas. I was really enjoying the stillness and the rare bit of solitude, and the monochrome of it all was just all the more pleasant in my current mood. Appreciating the beauty of my home state is all about seeing the subtlety. The west has its grand canyons, big sky and rugged mountains, but the gently sloping eastern coast requires a bit more sensitivity and close up observation. It is green and lush, and when I slow down to take in some small corner of the wilderness I am almost always rewarded with a surprise. Last summer, while paddling with my son and daughter from the lake down through the heart of the forest, we came across miles of white lotus flowers. As if that wasn't enough, when we stopped for a snack break, we also found it was peak blueberry season, and the wild bushes in every direction provided all the snacks we needed.

IMG_1280.JPG

No blueberries yet in June, but as I came around a bend just as the lake began to subside into the river feeding it, I spotted a sudden splash of color. Pulling up along a bog, I was presented with a wide swath of wild irises.

Mullica2b.jpg

Mullica2.jpg

I believe these are of the variety I. versicolor, reference, USDA Forest Service. I recently learned that there are 28 varieties of irises that are native to the United States, and they are found in every state in the lower 48 and Alaska reference, USDA Forest Service. I was grooving on the contrast of the these stunning blooms over the varnished wood of my pride and joy :) . . .

Mullica3.jpg

but here is a shot sans the man-made machine.

Mullica4.jpg

And pulling back, I would like to re-orient the bloom with her mass of friends . . .

Mullica5.jpg

. . . and the bog . . .

Mullica6.jpg

. . . and finally, in its place on the peaceful river.

Mullica7.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this little journey, and maybe it helped encourage you to break away from everything and do some exploring in your own backyard.

All photos are my own shot with iPhone 7

Sort:  

Congratulations @cstrimel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Those irises are exquisite, along with your post, I became peaceful just reading it. Have a lovely summer with your young family.

Thanks @shanibeer. Nice to hear from you! I hope you have a nice summer too (and are keeping up with the forward momentum :).

Yeh, I'm doing my first race in 8July 👍

Man!!!! I thought you died!!!
Happy to read you again...
Hope you get renewed for more valuable posts.
Steem on!

It's kind of scary, right? :) Nope, alive and well, but very busy. I probably will not be posting much until September when I go back to work and have more free time.

hahahahah! I understand you very well... I have two children man

Congratulations @cstrimel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cstrimel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48