Walk with Me in Halifax-Dartmouth

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Last weekend I thought I'd take my first skate around the Emera Oval in Halifax. It was a beautifully clear day, and the crowd had thinned out quite a bit by the time I got there. I did less than 10 circuits because it was my first skate of the year.

IMG_0726

After the skate, I made my way back towards the Halifax-Dartmouth ferry and passed the mural on the side of the Freak Lunchbox.

IMG_0731

A CBC post explains how this mural received international attention after it was painted, placing 14th in the top 20 best murals as voted by All City Canvas.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/nova-scotia/freak-lunchbox-mural-online-recognition-1.3391843

Once back on the Dark Side I took a short walk on the Waterfront Trail to check out some of the murals there. The Dark Side is nothing nefarious. As Jack Floek explains in his walking tour of Dartmouth, the name came from ships' captains entering the harbour. The Halifax side was very well lit, and the Dartmouth side was comparatively darker.

IMG_0733 (1)This is one end of Dominion Diving's building along the trail, that doesn't disclose much about the business, but the long side of the building certainly captures it.

IMG_0734IMG_0735IMG_0737

Just past the diving company the trail passes a dedicated spot for artists to showcase their works.

IMG_0740IMG_0741IMG_0743

Some are starting to show the stress of being so close to the ocean, but they will likely get a new lease on life during our three days of summer.

IMG_0745IMG_0746IMG_0747

I finished off my walk closer to home and the last mural that was painted last summer on the corner of Portland and Prince. It was really nice to actually feel warmth in the sun again.

IMG_0751

Sort:  

That was awesome, really beautiful graffiti, I live near Peggy's Cove and didn't know a few of those murals! Thanks!

Thanks. I’m sure we’ll see a lot more beautiful pictures from your area as we defrost. It’s a tad grey around the city right now.

I am loving the Halifax/Dartmouth life and thanks for sharing, very awesome pics and a new way to show the city.

Thanks for that. We love living here too, especially on the Dark Side, because we are so close to the ferry that it’s like being in DT Halifax. I’m looking forward to taking more pictures as the colour comes back to the city. Even the people seem to be washed out at this time of year.

ha, thats funny. yes I guess it is true. we are over on St. Margarets Bay

Still looks like fabulous weather down there. I just got back from my first #walkwithme since Xmas today too - actually more of a #crosscountryskiwithme since there is now 4 feet of snow here. It was a prefect first ski with 3-day-old powder and -3 deg. I'll post the pictures shortly.

Nice. Glad you are on the mend. I don't think I will get the skis out this year at all. There is grass around the oval now--not snow.

Hi dear how are you .... these are very good paintings and a lot of beauty is there

i like your blog buddy 😍 keep sharing your story with us :)
cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65848.40
ETH 3007.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73