Surprisingly Delicious, Raw Vegan Pineapple Mustard Green Rolls - Fresh from Vietnam's Street Markets.

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

image

Even though the title says pineapple, all the pineapple, the mint, and other herbs were all gone by the time I came to my senses and realized I should be sharing this with you before enjoying the last few delicious bites. This photo was with some mango and a piece of jicama - the taste is very similar to sweet water chestnut - and some mango about to be rolled in a mustard green leaf.

I really didn't expect this to be so good, but it was amazing... especially when you dip it in some raw organic coconut oil.

I started out with a whole fresh pineapple, a few mangos, some jicama, mustard greens, mint, morning glory (which I thought was poisonous before coming to Vietnam), and another somewhat bitter herb that I do not know the name of, but they often put it in Phỏ.

image

I was just trying to do a raw vegan clense and start eating more fresh food. I assumed that the antiviral, antibacterial, antiparasitic, and antifungal properties of the geens and herbs would be enhanced by the strong digestive enzymes of the pineapple.

But really I was just looking for a way to eat my mustard greens, and other herbs, along with the pineapple. I expexted that rolling the pineapple in the mustard greens would be a great idea since after eating a whole fresh pineapple, my lips generally feel like they were half digested off my face.
It worked out so much better than expected! The mustard greens were not overly spicy anymore, especially when dipping the rolls into some raw organic coconut oil, which is only $3.00 per liter in Vietnam. And after finishing the whole pineapple my mouth and lips didn't feel like the pineapple was eating me as fast as I was eating it.

image

All of this was less than $0.25 per kilo! Five kilos for 25,000 Dong, just over one dollar. From the top clockwise that's jicama, yellow and green mangos, and bell fruit and guava in the last bag.

image

And the green mangos look like this inside! So good!

image

One jicama peeled the other left whole.

image

Pineapple 5 for 20,000 Dong, just less than one dollar! I bought two and without hesitation the young man have me change for 8,000.

image
Just one of the places I bought amazing mangos... They're all over.

So this is one of the things that has reconvinced me; I'm going to be eating more raw vegan, it's a benefit as a traveler too, all I need to prepare good meal is some water to wash, a knife, a spoon, and a couple of bowls, which are part of my camp cooking gear now... Okay, okay, most of my cooking gear now.

Sort:  

@wanderlass dropped your link in our promobox, glad he did. I like the nice mid-length travel logs with content and pictures, I love armchair travel, people like you take me places I have never visited will likely never visit, and do it all without annoying commercials. Thank you. And the foods looked great.

Thank you for the support @bashadow :) I hope you get to visit Vietnam, food is really delicious and the place is awesome! :)

To old, not enough money, not enough health, but I do love the armchair travel, and I find a lot of value in post of this nature. I don't like the long ones to much though, or the one million people have done that one, type of post.

Hope everything gets better on those aspects that you mentioned. I also like reading and looking at travel photos because they can take us away to far places. :)

I'm going to try to keep posting that stuff, maybe it will be a bit mundane at times, but I want show the real life and new experiences in other places.
Is there an #armchairtravel hash tag? Seems like there should be.

I just clicked, nope, nothing under #armchairtravel maybe you will start a new trend.

I think I should live in Vietnam, fruits are soooo cheap!

You probably should! And they are!
Granted I usually buy the fruits that are selling for one half to one third the mid range price, but you can find them like that, especially if you like your fruit soft and ripe, like mangos. In many places the ripest sweetest ones are the cheapest, because Vietnamese like them more crunchy.

I like ripe mangoes but I sometimes crave for the green mangoes (with bagoong) :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72