Walk with me - Living with snowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #walkwithme5 years ago (edited)

IMG_7489.JPG

I peeked out the patio door and stared at my naked barbecue. At this time of year, it's normally under a cover but not now. The wind must have blown it off the other night. Is it just me or do its skinny legs even look like they are shivering?

Standing on my tip-toes, I looked around for the cover and thought I spotted it in my neighbor's yard.

You know what this means?
Now I have to go out there!

It's -10 C (14°F) and I'm not a lover of winter so most of my outdoor trips are short at this time of year. At the back of the house, I don't usually get past my deck, and that's just to remove snow from the furnace vents.

The last time I was at the end of my yard in winter was in 2008. That year, with a noticeably bigger snowfall, I had to take the long way around to the backyard to dig out my patio door. I crawled through soft snow up past my hips and my neighbours spotted me out there and cheered me on. It was quite a workout.

IMG_7490.JPG

At least, we're well equipped for cold here. I put on my coat, hats, boots and my warm mitts. The regular leather gloves I use in the car aren't warm enough for this. These ones are mittens with gloves built inside of them.

IMG_7491.JPG

If I'm going outside, I should put salt on the walk and driveway. The temperature went above freezing on Friday giving us a minor melt, and creating a coating of ice on everything that was snow. At least, the vines look pretty.

IMG_7493.JPG

I returned to the balmy indoors, too briefly, then headed out the back door. Okay now, I took one big step into the snow in a spot where I knew there was deck underneath. My foot punched through the icy coating and into deep fluff.

IMG_7494.JPG

Each footstep had to punch through the coating before I sunk up past my knees. Punch, punch, punch, punch, punch. I looked to my left and what I had thought was my barbecue cover was my neighbor's barbecue. How far had that thing flown? I had found the heavy rock that normally keeps it in place behind the barbecue. Then I spotted my cover behind my neighbor's yard.

IMG_7495.JPG

I walked cautiously. Punch, punch, punch, punch. What would take 30 seconds to retrieve in summer, takes 5 minutes now as I carefully choose my path, and punch, punch, punch through the snow.

IMG_7496.JPG

Nabbing the cover, I retraced my footsteps, exactly, back across the lawn to the deck to the barbecue. I put the cover on the barbecue and discovered the rock was frozen to the deck about the same moment my tolerance for the cold ran out. I dashed inside. It can wait.

IMG_7502.JPG

Later in the day, I remembered to check the garage door as I left for the evening with my friend, Sherpa. Oh, no. That brief melt had frozen the door in place. I forgot about it until today when I went outside and put salt on both sides of it. That's when I decided to take a brief walk to snap photos for you.

IMG_7514.JPG

The busier streets are mostly bare. Once they are plowed, the sun beating down on the asphalt warms them enough to melt the snow off. And I bet you didn't know there were tiny snowplows to keep the sidewalks clear? Everything gets cleared, sanded and salted.

IMG_7516.JPG

With less traffic, the side streets stay snow covered longer. Do you see the difference in color between this snow and the gleaming white stuff in my backyard? As it melts in the spring, you see all of the impurities left from car exhaust, sand, and dogs. By now I had discovered that I couldn't use the camera with mittens on and it was too cold with them off. I was heading home.

IMG_7517.JPG

Now there is an icy driveway!

IMG_7518.JPG

We have community mailboxes here and the post office hires contractors to clear the snow and put down sand.

IMG_7520.JPG

And here I'm back home. I should mention that if I have fertilizer, I often use it on ice since it's slightly better for the environment. The next adventure will be the garage door.

IMG_7525.JPG

While I was writing this post, Sherpa arrived with more salt and a pick axe for me! I'm lucky. With so much ice, the demand for salt is high this winter. He went to two stores looking for some.

Now I'm letting the salt do its work and I will be out there in an hour swinging that pick axe. And he just mentioned we're expecting another 25 cm (almost 10") of snow on Tuesday. UPDATE: That's now 30-50 cms of snow (roughly 12-20").

IMG_6787.JPG

One last image - I photographed the snow pile at the mall. They haul it all away before too much accumulates or it would fill quite a few parking spaces.

Images

Photos from my Canon SX620 HS in Kanata (west of Ottawa), Ontario, Canada.

Follow footer.gif

I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into winter life.
@kansuze

Sort:  

That makes me shudder! Next weird question from the Snow-know-nothing doesn't all the salt/fertiliser etc contaminate water sources in spring?

Yes, it can. Our cities use far too much and there are efforts to have them use less. And all that sand they put down must be swept up too. We're getting more lower polluting, plant and pet safe alternatives and that is what I buy since I have flowerbed on both sides of my walk.

Brrrr ..
it becomes cold looking at your photos !!!
But beautiful!

I was hoping you would see my photos. I remembered you saying you didn't get snow in your cities.

Yes, in Cyprus there is snow only in the mountains!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice

Wow. That is wild.

Hey, I have those warm mitts too - I just used them to get the blueberry bread out of the oven ;)

I had no idea sidewalks got snowplowed.

Hey, those mitts probably would work in the oven. Good news: the garage door is open. Bad news: We're now expecting 12-20" of snow. That's a lot of snow.

That is crazy. I guess that will give you plenty of reading time indoors.

Worst case, some businesses might close for a day but it sure helps to have hobbies. And there are people who love winter and winter sports. I think they have antifreeze in their blood!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95