A walk through faerieland!

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I perused Google early this morning for a nearby trail, because I'm tired of driving 40 minutes to get to my usual ones. I was pointed to one that was only 14 minutes away. Score!

20180718_092107.jpg
Does anyone else love signs like this? I don't know why, but they make me feel like I'm about to step into early 1960s America and go camping.

20180718_102234.jpg
This place was indescribable. Just a narrow trail wending its way through a giant forest. A sign at the trailhead told me this bit of trail was part of a 126-mile stretch. The idea of strapping on a backpack and hiking the whole thing seemed very appealing. Til I got tired, anyway. :P

20180718_093740.jpg
Unfortunately, my camera made a lot of shots look flat and washed out. This was a sea of ferns shining in the morning sun.

20180718_100423.jpg
And then there was this view! For a little while, it felt like being back in Virginia, and I nearly cried. Anyone who's been or lives there will know what I mean about softly rolling mountains. That's my favorite place in all the world, and it was like coming home.

I passed a babbling stream and a stand of towering pines along my way, and although my brain told me to turn back, my feet keptoving forward. I did not prepare myself for a 6-mile hike today! If any of you are hiking experts, tell me: what kind of snacks do you take along with you? I had nothing in my pantry to bring, and I didn't expect to walk so much. Big mistake. I'll be bringing food along from now on!

(I'll also share more photos in another post!)

Sort:  

I love the photos. So green... 😍
Don't be like @davedickeyyall and almost get stuck on a hike with no supplies! Granola bars would have been my former grab n go, but I'm allergic now. 😭 Cheese and crackers would probably be it now, possibly dried apples.

Yeah it was not my smartest moment. XD I bought a box of PB granola bars when I went to the grocery store, but now the challenge is to keep my paws off them in between time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73