Walk with me to our property boundary little creek

in #walkwithme6 years ago

IMG_0655.jpg
Trapped in ice #macrophotography under a rock ledge

IMG_0646.jpg
Greenery in the winter #macrophotography on a rock by our creek

IMG_0583.jpg

Hey kiddos! It's just us here today and some of the snow has melted off. Let's go take care of the chickens, and then go down to the little creek! I hear it rushing pretty loudly down there below the barn!

IMG_0592.jpg
One way to crush eggshells for the garden: Hey kids, wanna come stomp on these eggshells?

I opened up the barn and then the chicken coop. As usual, the chickens excitedly burst out, rushed across the barn, skidded to a stop at the sight of the snow, and turned tail and ran back into the barn interior. They've done this every. single. day. since it snowed. I wasn't having it today, what with their propensity to poop prolifically all over the barn. I chased them outside with the leaf rake so I could change their water, top off their food and collect eggs without tripping over chickens.

IMG_0604.jpg
Bunch of pansies, haha

IMG_0608.jpg
Sunny is a really good sport.

At this point I cheated a bit with the "walking" part. Our three choices for getting to the creek were
1 - scrabble down the steep hillside behind the barn, through deep snow and jagger bushes
2 - walk nearly half a mile along the roadside out front
3 - drive the UTV along the road

1 and 2 didn't appeal to me, between my sinus infection and having small children in tow. I opted for #3 :)

IMG_0612.jpg
Melting snow is making this fuller than usual!

IMG_0611.jpg
I really like these smooth stair-stepped rock ledges

Because I'm mother of the year, yes, I let my kids play in frigid creeks. Their Bogs rain boots are rated to keep their feet warm and dry down to -30 degrees F though. I just reminded them about a hundred times to stay out of deep spots so the water wouldn't pour in over the tops ;)

IMG_0613.jpg
Can't keep this little guy out of the water no matter what time of year it is

IMG_0629.jpg
Beautiful!

IMG_0624.jpg
I like how that balanced stick is completely iced over on the bottom end

IMG_0628.jpg
Little waterfall in a tunnel created by the twisted tree

IMG_0633.jpg
Looking further up the creek

IMG_0636.jpg
She wouldn't wade at first because she didn't want to get her new pants wet. But after awhile, she couldn't resist!

IMG_0640.jpg
Trying out some #macrophotography on this moss and snow

Then we walked up the road a little ways, where the rock walls are, looking for icicles shining in the late afternoon light.

IMG_0650.jpg
We spotted some!

IMG_0652.jpg
Can't....reeeeach....

We then headed home because Mommy was wearing only yoga pants and garden boots and getting cold--well, obviously I had some other clothes too, but inadequate in the pants and boots department. The temperature was dropping fast! I'm glad we got out and enjoyed a little fresh air!

Sort:  

It really is lovely to get out on a clear winters morning and enjoy the fresh air for a while - but also lovely to get back inside by the fire :)

Oh, the fire did feel wonderful when we got back in!!

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

You had me at moss and snow!! Thank you for the walk!!
Bwhahaha the chickens 😂
That is a great creek! So beautiful...love seeing the babes too <3 <3 <3

You’re welcome! I’m glad you found the chickens funny. They were crowding pathetically along that little strip like they were being forced to walk the plank or something.

Beautiful property I love the creek running through it

Thanks! We love it too :) having a little creek is truly the cherry on top.

I really enjoyed this walk with you and your kiddos ❤️ your creek is beautiful covered in snow. I long to play in snow ❄️⛄ probably because I can't 😁
My kids would be in that water in a heart beat too! Thanks for sharing!

You’re welcome :) When I couldn’t play in snow all the years in FL, I wanted nothing more, so I know how that is!

Great pictures. I'm following you right now <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59