Walk With Me - Happy Hollow Farm (Lumsden, Saskatchewan)

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

As my first entrance to this wonderful topic (I've really been enjoying the posts from @lyndsaybowes who has inspired me to show off my little corner of the world), I want you to walk with my family and I through Happy Hollow Farm!

DSC_6207.JPG

@prairiepinner and I had a request from our 4 year-old to go to the farm for her birthday, so off we went with some good friends of ours; one of my buddies from the fire department along with his girlfriend and their combined kids.

DSC_6213.JPG

So, with 4 kids and 4 adults, we all set off for some fall family fun! Our first stop was in the barn, which is really more of a store, but had this nice set up for picture when it is too cold outside. The store is also the only place you can go without paying admission (which is more than you would expect!)

DSC_6210.JPG

The first stop, by popular request, was the corn maze!

DSC_6216.JPGDSC_6218.JPGDSC_6225.JPG

Usually you will find Corn, Canola, and Mustard in Saskatchewan fields. In fact, Saskatchewan produces the vast majority of mustard seed, something like 80-90% of the global supply! Some farmers still grow corn, particularly feed corn like this in order to feed their animals.

DSC_6222.JPG

After that, it was off for some fun for the kiddos!

DSC_6214.JPG

And then, off to meet the two- and four-legged residents of the farm.

DSC_6259.JPGDSC_6264.JPGDSC_6268.JPG

I just loved the colour on the chickens!

There's a running Canadian joke that Saskatchewan is flat, but if you really believe that then you've never been off of Highway 1 (the Transcanada for those of you from out of province).

DSC_6246.JPGDSC_6232.JPGDSC_6235.JPG

So, that's my voyage from yesterday...there's another one from today, but I will save that for tomorrow or the next day's posts!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mwoodall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oooh my goodness, you really have a lovely eye for photography! That photo of the cob of corn...WOWEE!!

Saskatchewan is a beautiful province, I have been through the badlands before, just incredible...so much more diverse than what we are taught about Sask. Interesting about the mustard seed too I did not know that.

Thanks for taking us with you and I really look forward to coming on another walk with you soon!

Thank you! I don't get much of an opportunity to get out and do it, but enjoy it when I can!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mwoodall to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You mean there's more to Lumsden than just a go-kart track that we race cars on?
Nice showcase.

Lol, this is barely 1km further west on the same road as the go-kart track!

Cool. It's been a few years since I've done that.

They just opened it up this year again :) Last year the bridge was outs they actually couldn't access the farm area at all. With all the fundraisers they did, they have since replaced the bridge and it absolutely stunning. I suggest making the drive down next weekend as the leaves will probably be perfect then.

I like that except I have to go north this weekend to Prince Albert for a memorial.

Oh no! Our condolences. Not sure of Thanksgiving weekend, but would probably still be warm enough.

Posts like this one make me love this season so much more! Great pictures on the tour.

Thank you for sharing this for all those folks out there that think Saskatchewan is flat like a pancake. lol Looks like you guys had a wonderful time. Awesome photos. I like the chicken too.

I freely admit to being one of those people until I moved out here! There is such huge variety once you get off of the Transcanada, more people should come out here and explore!

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Beautiful photos, and yeah, I love the colors on that roo! Welcome to the walk with me herd!

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69681.57
ETH 3699.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25