Walk With Me - Small Town Saskatchewan!

in #walkwithme7 years ago

My first attempt at this post crashed and burned spectacularly (see my last post, lol)...so I'm trying again!

A few days ago, our lil pinner asked @prairiepinner and I if she could go for a bike ride. Our bikes are in the shop, so @prairiepinner grabbed her rollerblades, and I grabbed my phone to give steemit a tour of our little town!

WELCOME!
20170925_184138.jpg

It's autumn in our part of the world, so the leaves are changing color. They're beautiful, but I miss the vibrant oranges and deep reds of Southern Ontario at this time of year (not to mention the fresh apples)!
20170925_183954.jpg

For those of you who aren't from around here, this is 'Rider Country! The Saskatchewan Roughriders are part of the Canadian Football League (which plays American Football, not everywhere else Football), which has fewer downs and longer fields than the NFL in the states. Just goes to show that Canadians can go further, faster than our neighbors to the south!
20170925_184118.jpg
Just kidding...@prairiepinner and I love our american friends!

After a quick stop at the library (which is also our town office, community hall, arena, senior's club, and baseball diamond), we headed over to the geological feature from which our town draws its name!
20170925_184443.jpg

Welcome to Pilot Butte!
20170925_184743.jpg

We are named after the butte, which was used by travelers as a waypoint when going to the city of Regina, before Google and Waze were things. It is a lovely view from up here, and one that I don't see often enough. Thankfully, the 'lil Pinner decided that I should go up the hill, so I got these pictures for you!
20170925_185159.jpg20170925_185133.jpg

Of course what goes up, must come down. @prairiepinner didn't make the trip up because she was on rollerblades...
20170925_185226.jpg

But then, it was time for my two ladies to roll off into the sunset as we headed home at the end of another long day.
20170925_185538_HDR.jpg

That's it for now, next time I go for an interesting wander, I'll be sure to invite you to walk with me!
20170925_184029_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Looks like a charming town, and I love the sunset photos, thank you so much for taking us on this walk/ride with you!! <3 <3 I have a puppet stuffed animal Gainer :) :) Go Riders!!

some of the best games were between the Riders and the Stampeders :) and hope burns eternal

Go Riders! Also hello, I'm just reaching out to some ppl using the teamcanada tag saying hi. I put the group together the get to know some Canadian Steemers better. We're growing quick! Also we have a chat in Discord if you're not familiar I'd check it out..love to talk to ya. Cheers

heading to the teamcanada tag next, thanks @goldenarms

Sweet! Ed's on a voting break, so I'm sending someone else too!

Can I ask the reason for the voting break? I thought it didn't cost anything...

Thank you for sending someone else, though!

It's top secret😉

Can't argue with that

The more you upvote the more your Voting power decreases. Check your voting power here, you'll have to enter your username at the top right to see yours.

https://steemnow.com/

Thank you! I didn't realize that!

No problem, I hope it was helpful!

Congratulations @mwoodall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

greetings @mwoodall from a fellow Canadian Steemer. I live next door in southern Alberta, south of Lethbridge and an hour east of Waterton.

I enjoy visiting small towns for their relaxed lifestyle and slower change of pace.

Really enjoyed the photo tour and looking forward to more of your posts.

Hi! Strangely enough, I was born in Northern Alberta (though I haven't lived there in over 30 years). We definitely love living in a small town, but are happy to be close enough to a big city that everything is only a short drive away. I don't have anymore posts in that category ready to go yet, but have some business trips coming up, so will try to get out and explore while I'm on those.

Thanks for the comment, and I look forward to seeing more of you around here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68241.10
ETH 3783.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65