#walkwithus Sunday mooch in ILAM & Dove Dale ~ (Staffordshire Peak District, UK)

in #walkwithus6 years ago (edited)

Hello from Blighty!

Here is a rare spot, a public phone box BUT with a phone still in it and not a defibrillator as many have now been refitted with. Rare indeed as a lot have been sold privately or repurposed to save lives. Given how this backwater sleepy village is a bit close to Heaven's door, it might be better off as a defib!

IMG_3166.jpeg

It's raining, but that doesn't stop us barking mad Brits from venturing out to a cosy rural town one hour from home, to walk some mud and cattle shit in to our boots. A favourite pastime here!! Cushioned by the thought of a roast lunch to follow... If we don't drive in to cows.

IMG_3130.jpg

Here's my fella, eating his white sliced bread cheese salad sandwich contingency lunch, far ahead of time!

IMG_3140.jpg

The obligatory grotty village sign, must feature. You are walking with us in ILAM which is 'picture postcard', or 'chocolate box' perfect.

IMG_3224.jpg

Everyman and their dog here today, a very popular rambling place, probably because of excellent accessibility, free parking for National Trust members (or £3.50), easy hills to negotiate, the all-essential tea rooms us Blighties can't live without, the ice cream outlets and, of course, the pièce de résistance views to die for.

But first - the trek! Starting off from Ilam Hall which is a Youth Hostel of true magnificence.

IMG_3150.jpg

Plus a quaint little church where I gave my family a sermon, but more of that later.

IMG_3153.jpg

Ilam (pronounced "Eye-lam") is a village in the Staffordshire Peak District, lying on the River Manifold. The population of the civil parish as taken at the 2011 census was 402. Thanks Wikipedia.

One entrance to the youth hostel - rather smart.

IMG_3256.jpg

The C17th church slightly further down from the Hall.

IMG_3160.jpg

Had to have a nosey inside and walked quietly on the black and white chequered marble floor to admire the sculpted C17th headstones and the huge stone font and altar. Had a little go in the pulpit too and walked past the beautiful brass lectern on the way out, but forgot to take a snap of it, darn.

Left a little prayer note for someone dear to me who has been extremely difficult to handle throughout my life and almost broke me tbh, but is now showing signs of brain disease ~ which is proving emotionally tough to deal with, especially when I was just finding some peace with past turbulence (not flatulence).

Here is the table where I popped my prayer note. It is as I understand it, at least well over 300 years old and a solid stone seventeenth century altar.

IMG_3248.jpg

I am not a church-goer myself, but I know that the energy we create collectively and that of the creator's divine presence, is super powerful.

IMG_3159.jpg

How cool is this church organ? My Granddad played the organ in church, he was completely self-taught, clever so-and-so.

IMG_3249.jpg

Found these! Quite incredible and seventeenth century too, from the time of Oliver Cromwell.

IMG_3244.jpg

Just tucked away in a dark corner of this very unassuming little rural church. I could only just access them for a photograph, hence at an awkward angle.

IMG_3243.jpg

Can't really decipher this written placard below. If you can, please comment below. I am keen to understand who they are and in what context they died, if that is what it tells us. There was absolutely noone around to ask, unless we were being spied on behind the big velvet curtain, like in the Wizard of Oz lol.

IMG_3246.jpg

I took a moment to read from the pulpit, and I have to say, I quite liked that feeling up high with acoustics projecting my voice adequately enough to be HEARD, unlike when I preach to my kids at home. :)

IMG_0147.jpg

Coat of arms flanking the stone funeral casket, but have yet to research this one. Again, if you figure it out, please let me know.

IMG_3247.jpg

The incredibly old font, which has seen some minor repair by the looks of it.

IMG_3252.jpg

The front door reads 1618, wow.

IMG_3255.jpg

One of the many ancient headstones in the cemetery. I am sure this is a Celtic cross, without the cross top part, which appears to be missing.

IMG_3254.jpg

And another! Older than this later church I think.

IMG_3240.jpg

OK, bye bye church, we have a walk to do.

IMG_3157.jpg

Onwards and to the river!

Where I found some rather curiously shaped stones as bank fortification. What look to be millstones from the Industrial revolution times. Amazing - unless they are even older, I don't know but sure as heck want to.

38814346_10156505595499666_1758611223051501568_o.jpg

Quite muddy today, but that's part of the fun - staying upright and not getting spiked on the brambles en route ~ despite my daughter and partner both getting mildly electrocuted from a thin fence further down field. Wish I had recorded that episode! Was very gentle though, not like the current I experienced on a farm fence in Italy that once nearly stopped my heart. We would certainly need those defibrillator TELEPHONE boxes around then!

IMG_0131.jpg

Random pointless gate, just coz.

IMG_3171.jpg

One ton of nettles around. My friend gave me some dried nettle leaves yesterday, which was ace as you can drink the tea from them (with ginger and lemon, honey etc) and they detox you and have great properties, of which Vitamin K is one of them. Best picked in April/May when they are younger and more fertile. Choose wisely and not near where dogs pee!

IMG_3184.jpg

Quality strolling, bankside. Cows all chilling and lying down because it's raining.

IMG_3189.jpg

Typical 4x4 round here.

IMG_3194.jpg

Loving the reeds and quaint bridge.

IMG_3200.jpg

Dove Dale, a very easy walk on the first part. We didn't venture too far as one of us had very little legs and was nagging for ice cream, and it wasn't me.

IMG_3207.jpg

Vast panoramas and the cattle were lowing (noisy) too, not sure why unless they were heckling us in passing, for fun. Herd mentality, couldn't resist.

IMG_3216.jpg

Another mandatory sign inclusion, rather tatty as usual.

IMG_3218.jpg

My daughter loves the lambs, of which there were plenty (friendly too) to admire for her.

IMG_0134.jpg

Check out this hill.

IMG_3221.jpg

I was fantasising about how the middle (lighter) hill above and below is pyramidical in shape, and how YOU NEVER KNOW?! Given the use of pyramids for other pretty unknown purposes than mausoleums, there will always be questions unanswered and imaginations running wild. Energy is what I believe they tapped in to, however that manifested itself in antiquity.

Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 19.26.00.png

An old postcard of the hill.

Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 21.16.15.png

Had to include this twee pic! It just about sums up middle England and its cosy character.

IMG_3229.jpg

But there are always party people around to change the mood of a quiet country walk. I was using the lyrics of the song as I spoke, as they were quite apt. No idea who's private rave this was (some lucky girl called Nicki), but it sounded awesome, despite being customarily grumpy myself that these c*nty revellers had smashed up my aesthetic negative-ion intake and gentle stroll vibe. :p

Right, heading back up to the bunker house near where we parked now.

IMG_3258.jpg

Back past the church again. Those windows were stunningly multi-coloured and this image does nothing for them!

IMG_3241.jpg

Truly hope you enjoyed the trail with us.

IMG_3214.jpg

I'm sure Lucky-Nicki would hope you loved it too haha. <3

IMG_3191.jpg

Farewell Dove Dale and Ilam. It's been GREAT and we've covered six miles of beautiful landscapes!

IMG_3181.jpg

Not going without mentioning how I caught sight of some HOLLY & IVY all intertwined (love it). Reminiscent of a very famous British folk Christmas carol;

IMG_3238.jpg


THE HOLLY & THE IVY

The holly and the ivy,
When they are both full grown
Of all the trees that are in the wood
The holly bears the crown
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

The holly bears a blossom
As white as lily flower
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
To be our sweet Saviour
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

The holly bears a berry
As red as any blood
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
To do poor sinners good
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

The holly bears a prickle
As sharp as any thorn;
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
On Christmas Day in the morn.
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

The holly bears a bark
As bitter as any gall;
And Mary bore sweet Jesus Christ
For to redeem us all.
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

The holly and the ivy
Now both are full well grown,
Of all the trees that are in the wood,
The holly bears the crown.
O the rising of the sun
And the running of the deer
The playing of the merry organ
Sweet singing of the choir

IMG_3227.jpg

Catch you next time. Driving home now. Kettle awaits and there is a roast to devour!

xXx












































Sort:  

Screenshot_2018-08-14-02-11-20.png
Had issue only one (had one child)
Daughter who married
The Lord Cromwell
Visconte (title) Name I can't read
And then the bottom lines I can't make out. 5 Feb 1626? Maybe? ;)

Thanks so much! That helps. :)

Oh my WOW!!!! What an epic walk with you guys, I just love that history! Going to watch the videos now, 100% upvote and resteem beautiful SiSTAR!!

I'm trying so hard on Steemit before my studies pulls me away which will be a real shame as I love interacting on here and your comments always are a good tonic. <3<3 Thank you, gorgeous you.

I'll be here, and there <3 Wherever you are <3 xo Thank you for always staying in touch even when you are studying like crazy.

Ooh, what are you studying?

Okay, I have no idea what that is, haha sorry. 😅😅

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

That's amazing, I'm glad you're enjoying Britain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67