Living and Traveling in a Converted Van

in #wandering4 years ago (edited)

During the years I’ve traveled this great nation by RV, I’ve met many people traveling and living basically the same as me. They travel in large Class A motorhomes, medium sized Class C motorhomes, smaller Class B motorhomes and some in converted vans of various sizes.

converted van.jpg
Converted Van

If you follow my blog, you’ll recall that I’ve written about beginning my “nomadic” adventures in a large motorhome. Being a solo traveler, I found it was just too big for my minimalistic needs. I sold that RV and bought a van and converted it to a very comfortable small home on wheels. The primary advantage of transitioning from a large RV to a van is the ease of navigating this wonderful country. It drives much like a car and can be parked in any space a car will fit in excepting parking decks and underground parking. It’s also quite easy on fuel.

class a.jpg
Class A Motorhome

I’ve met numerous people who also travel as minimalists; living in various van type vehicles. They range from soccer mom vans, to VW popups,

vw popup.jpg
VW Pop Up Van

box type vans, cargo vans, converted school buses (skoolies), converted ambulances and several other types from 4 to 8 cylinders, gas and diesel, 2-wheel and 4-wheel drive. Regardless of what these folks were living in, they were, for the most part, a very happy and positive minded group of people who were enjoying life. They all said the same thing, they had all they wanted and needed.

Some were living this lifestyle in their retirement years, others were younger and were using the Internet to earn a living while roaming North America. Others were just tired of the cubicle, fighting traffic and working what they felt were dead-end jobs. All in all, they were all embracing their God-given freedom to do what they wanted to do when they wanted to do it. Some that I’ve talked with had a little money saved and were true nomads. They would do odd jobs where they happened to be to earn enough to sustain themselves and move on to greener pastures, so they say. It may not be the American dream the way most envision it, but to these folks, they were living their dream and being happy in the process.

van on street.jpg
Van Life

In my opinion, these people living in converted vans or other types of converted vehicles are pursuing their dreams of happiness without some authority telling them how to live.

Source: Most of the photos in this blog are provided courtesy of unsplash.com.

“If you liked this article, please follow me here on Steemit. I’ll follow you back. I’ll be bringing you more good quality content in the weeks to come.”

Until next time…

Sort:  

I dream one day of living the van life. Can't wait till that day comes!

Don't lose your dream. You'll love it. Thanks for reading my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53