WARNING - A dangerous comment is being used to reply to posts.

in #warning6 years ago

steemitag.png

If you see this comment in your own or other peoples blog posts DO NOT click on the light green this link - when you do it opens a Steem connect page that is auto filled with the original blog creators account name and exactly the amount of steem power they own - and it delegates all of that Steem Power to the account @steemitag - not only is this a scam for them to claim Steem Power delegation - but the way it is doing it by using exactly the amount of steem power the blog poster has - it means if they click the continue button - see below

SteemiTagsneaky.png

which for many might be the only obvious way to get rid of the page - they delegate all of their Steem Power and then will not be able to perform any actions on Steemit - because you need some Steem Power to do anything on here.

I was contacted today on discord by one of my followers, he had clicked this link in his own post and accidentally handed all of his Steem Power to this bogus service. Fortunately someone had already helped him reverse the transaction - but when you delegate Steem Power it leaves immediately. Reversing the delegation takes 7 Days! So effectively my follower now had a useless steemit account because he could do nothing without his Steem Power. Fortunately I was in a position to delegate some of my own Steem Power to him so he can continue to post and comment. Obviously his upvote is reduced with his Steem Power taken away - and this will also hurt his curation rewards - but other users might not be so lucky as to have someone to hand who is willing and able to help them out.

The worst part about this is that link - which I can only presume is auto generated by a bot along with the reply - could be clicked by anyone reading the blog post comments - and if they then press continue - bang they just took away all the original blog posters Steem Power. That to me is a massive security issue that Steemit needs to look into - while the transaction can be reversed - the fact it takes 7 days and this rogue account is draining all the Steem Power from users means right now many people could be sat with an non functioning Steemit Account. Even worse some may not realise even what happened or might not know how to reverse it.

steemitagecomments.png

These comments seem to actually be getting posted in short bursts of time which suggests rather then a bot someone is manually pasting the comment information including the relevant users information. But taking all of an accounts Steem Power is just ridiculous - for reference if you ever delegate Steem Power on purpose you should always leave at least 50 Steem Power in your account so it can still function.

As Steem value grows I expect more and more scams and scammers will look to find ways to extract what they can from users here on Steemit. Be vigilant and wary - never transfer funds to unknown sources and double check the account names you enter - if something sounds too good to be true it most likely is so ignore people on discord who offer you big upvote rewards for sending funds to an account name or Bittrex or Polonex address's. If in doubt double check with people you trust on Steemit before doing anything.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord https://discordapp.com/channels/374566683920171023/374576552068775946

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

What about the password? If the password is not on the auto save mode, it should be safer.
Another reason, why you shouldn't put your passwords on auto save and change them frequently as well.

This is true, I did not continue past the continue button so you are most likely right it would need a password afterwards to authorise the transaction - but it's still an easy mistake to make and something that shouldn't be allowed to happen - it's obviously been done that way deliberately to scam Steem Power delegations off people.

Thanks for your advice..

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment :-)

Does @ned know about this? i sure there is a way to remove that user.? cheers for the info dude.

That is good advice, I was trying to work out where to report it but was struggling to find answers.

upvoted & resteemed to spread the word. thank you for the heads up! I am going to their blog now and MUTING them so I NEVER even see one of their comments :)

Cheers!!!!

Thank you for taking a look and leaving a comment, that is good advice as well Muting the account will stop you seeing those spam replies.

Thank you :)

Thank you for this... I'm resteeming immediately! This is just a ghastly deed.

Thank you for taking a looking and resteeming, it's very annoying that something like this can be put into comments - and it is so obviously designed to mislead - and take away precious Steem Power from the new users that need it the most!

Its happen to me 01/01/2018 😢
About 392SP delegated
I'm waiting it to finish 7 days
Really I miss my Steem power
I don't know why they do that, they are scammers

Really, I don't know how a human being can be so callous and hurtful to another. This is horrible. So sorry it happened to you :(

Thank you but there are persons good and helpful like Mr @c0ff33a he support and help me always
God bless him 🙏

That’s too bad :( The good thing is you can get it all back. It seems a little like losing a weeks worth of wages!

It's very annoying my friend, an easy mistake to make the whole reply it designed to make you want to click into it. At least you found out how to reclaim your Steem Power back.

Thank you for taking a look at my post and leaving a comment :-)

This post has received a 0.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @c0ff33a.

You got a 9.25% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @c0ff33a!

Thank you very much for warning us! It very important post!

Thank you for taking a look at my post and leaving a comment :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77