How To Wear A Watch the Right Way!

in #watch6 years ago


Is there a correct way to wear a wristwatch?...Let's see...

I get that question a lot, especially from clients that are buying their first watch or just getting into watch collecting. They want to know if there is a right and wrong way to wear a luxury wrist watch. That's the reason I made this video.

There are many opinions on how how a watch should be worn and people certainly have their own preferences, but I'm going to give you some opinions and suggestions based on my experience. I hope that this alleviates the itch!

One of the theories being thrown around regarding this topic is that a wristwatch should be worn above the wrist bone. I think that's not really etched in stone!

When I wear a watch above the bone, it feels like I'm wearing a pair of jeans all the way up above the bellybutton, which is not very complementary for any male crotch region! Wearing the watch too high up on the wrist is also uncomfortable for some people, since this might cause the crown to dig into their hand.

I prefer to wear the watch on the bone, meaning right over my actual wrist bone. That's my personal preference. Even though this will typically cause the band to oscillate over and under the bone when you move around (especially for metal watches), it always centers back over the bone (at least for me).

If wearing your wrist watch on the bone is not particularly comfortable for you, you can also try to wear it below the bone, the position a luxury watch naturally gravitates to for people who like to wear it a bit loose or when your arm is raised in a vertical position.

That brings me to my next point of discussion: tight or loose?

I know watch collectors that like to remove extra links from the band, so that the watch fits extra tight. I really don't recommend this, but if it inundates your soul with some weird sense of satisfaction, then so be it!

Furthermore, when you wear a watch too tight, it might fit OK when you wake up in the morning, but by the end of the day (and after you've retained a bit of water), it can definitely make you feel a bit claustrophobic!

So I keep coming back back to preference when it comes to how the watch should sit on the wrist. Preference is definitely the most important thing. Nevertheless, I would like to give you some of my guidelines.

  • If your skin is tightening up a bit when you close the watch strap, then the watch might be too tight.

  • If you can rotate the watch completely around your wrist over your wrist bone, then the watch might fit too loose.

One thing that I would like to point out about wearing a wristwatch too loose is that doing so causes excessive wear and tear on the links. At the same time, wearing it too tight might stretch out the band. You don't really want any of these two things to happen.

Some people also want to know on what hand to wear a watch. I'm right handed, so I wear it on my left (otherwise, it feels weird). But that's something else that's up to you and on what side you feel comfortable wearing it. The same holds true for wearing two watches at the same time (however, this is something that I only recommend if the two wristwatches you choose to wear are very high end models).

Other than that, it's all based on your taste. How do you like to wear your watch, on the bone, over the bone, loose, tight, etc.? Let me know in the comments below. Also, comment on the topics that you would like us to cover on future videos!

Follow us on Social Media (including Steemit):

Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/crmjewelers/

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/crmjewelers

Google +
https://plus.google.com/+Crmjewelers/

Steemit (where you can also watch our new videos)
https://steemit.com/@crmjewelers

Take a Selfie with our Cuban Link App
https://www.crmjewelers.com/cuban-link-app/

Join Our VIP Club and Save!
https://www.crmjewelers.com/vip/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64