💧WATER ART- stepping out from classic colors

in #water-art6 years ago

Hi guys!

Today I thought I might talk you about some other colors that are water based and give you watercolor effect, but are not considered as classic one. This kind of colors I came across by accident. They are usually used for wood coloring :) But since they have strong pigments and are water based, they act like sort of watercolor.
And if you want to learn a bit more about pigments you can find it here in this great @jnart post source.



Here they are. No specific brand, and as I learned for some time this kind of colors are hard to find. Usually they could been found in shops that sell industrial colors for house paintings and other staff. But I haven't seen them for years now.
Maybe you will have more luck in some other country.

wa.jpg



Translated to English I think it's water based stain for wood and it in my case it looks like this.

DSCF3649.JPG

dots1.png

As you can see on photo I put very small amount in bottle cover to take paint from it. Also sometimes I use some small bowls to mix color or dilute it with water to get not so strong colors.
Also, very important, don't put brush with different color in another one, you will ruin color in second.

So, what we can achieve with this kind of colors? Well, magic :)
Because they are full with color you can use a lot of water that can allow you to take some of from paper if you feel like it.
This are first steps that I use when working with them.

dots1.png

DSCF3651.JPG

dots1.png

While color is wet, you can add some more of it in angles and when it dries, it will make very nice effect.

dots1.png

DSCF3652.JPG

dots1.png

DSCF3653.JPG

dots1.png

And here is moment why I love those colors. When you put another, brighter color on wet painted place, that color is eating other one and making magic. It's not like when working with inks since inks stick to paper instantly. This colors can be manipulate a bit more.

dots1.png

DSCF3656.JPG

dots1.png

DSCF3657.JPG

They give you a lot fun and possibilities for making lovely and playful moments on paper. For this kind of art you don't need lot color. Usually I use three or four of them, since the amount of water makes their shades.

dots1.png

And here are some final results when are dried.

DSCF3661.JPG

dots1.png

If you love to play, and want to play more check out @marty-art post source. Things she showed here can be also used with these colors.

water-art1.png

We are @marty-arts, @jnart and @jungwatercolor
You can find more interesting tutorials and videos at our @water-art page.

dots1.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how easy it is to get them or visit us on Discord

Контролисано разливање… сањам то :) Одлично снимљено, тако да се види колико је боја влажна и какав је ефекат додавања. Сјајна лекција @jungwatercolor, хвала лепо.

Hvala tebi sto pratis i uzivas @lighteye. A ovo jeste pravo zadovoljstvo, gledati boju i vodu kad se igraju.

Another great informative post spreading your knowledge, you are a good one!

It is magic, isnt' it, when you drop heavy pigment into a wet solution? When I was playing with pouring medium years ago, I'd use acrylic clear and pour over my handmade prints affixed to board and then whilst still wet would drop in straight acrylic ink colours, it was magic every time!

These three pieces are so good, I love the colours too. You should scan them and then digitally draw with digital ink over them and see what happens. I love doing that, again the freedom of digital that we didn't used to have,keeping the original in it's integrity, whilst playing with all kinds of options.

Well done, this tutorial is worth sharing too.

Great idea Donna, haven't thought about scanning watercolors and editing but you are right, those cuties may be playful.
And yes I know that moment you talk about inks in acrylic ..Magic :)))
Thank you for resteem dear @donnadavisart!

They are lovely colours!

Thank you @opheliafu :) My favorite combination.

I really like this effect and these playful little towers. I just imaging them with a nightsky full of stars around

@patschwork, yes I know what you think, sometimes I make them that way in a star night. Thank you for kind words.

Beautiful art @jungwatercolor. The water colors are too beautiful and so is your art

Thank you @wanderess for kind words :)

Very well and easily explained. It looks so simple but yet very cute and I don't think I could make it as good as you. ;)

But you can try @mandalaflower, who knows what might positive happen :)

Of course, I was doing painting and colouring on my own before. My point was, even if it looks so simple, you did it perfectly well. :) I know, strange way to give compliments. haha ;)

Yes, it's bit hard here to make conversation when we are not using our native languages :)
Thank you for compliments :)))

Beautiful and interesting! What would you say is the biggest difference to ordinary watercolor?

Well, they are much stronger @jnart. Not sure if you ever tried out Talens Ecoline colors? They are similar but much much cheaper :) And they don't act like regular watercolors, can't be so easily manipulated and mixed. They are more for this simple illustrative things or coloring pencil drawings.

I haven't what I remember at least :) thanks for clarifying :D I hope to do my next tomorrow.

woww! my dear friend this is great!
Maybe I'll try something like that tonight. in the last picture I made, I noticed how the colors mixed in the water!
I think it's time to seriously try it!
thank you very much!

You should @artizm, there is nothing to lose :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79