Water is life: getting wet in Sri Lanka and finding some surf.

in #water6 years ago

Life takes us on many adventures and with me, it draws me to water. In particular the ocean swells that finally break after traveling huge distances. Something about being a surfer, that dictates us to orient our lifestyle around the ocean. Or we try are damnedest to achieve this.   
 

This was a short month long trip I did to Sri Lanka a few years back. I was in between missions to the Congo and the last time I visited. I was under 2 years old.   

This time I was on a mission to find some surf and do a rapid assessment. This to see if it would be worth to come back and explore more. Well it definitely is that place. Bonus is the food is amazing! Well that's if you like spices.   

This guy was unfortunate to by hit by a vehicles trying to cross the road. There are plenty elephants around too. Some surf spots you have to keep an eye out for them. 


A well known spot, I had to arrive pre-dawn to get at least 15 minutes to myself to surf. Also glassy conditions are to be had at this time of day, then you get strong onshores.  

It was a small day when I took these photos. Some surfers were pushing their luck over the rocks. 

  
 
I will be back.  

#water  #life  #lifestyle  #surfing  

 

Hey everyone. I hope you liked this post. I would like to share another post I made:  

Steem Forest giveaway [week 6]: 7 SBD award pool. 11 trees planted so far.

Yes, we plant trees for your upvote. It is that simple. 54 trees  planted since the 1st of February and all with your simple upvote.

(Usage with permission. This art work and owner of such, is courtesy of @artwatch and usage requires permission )

It all started with the Steemit Sandwich Contest.

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Beautiful scenery. Wish I can go to Sri Lanka and surf there sometime in the future. Great photos.

it is beautiful and a lot to see there. I hope you can go there too. Maybe with the power of steemit.

You surf really well, and it looks like you really enjoy what you do. That's awesome.

Beautiful spot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99