Summer hat

in #watercolor6 years ago



Watercolor/ink - Lily the curious hedgehog with her summer hat

“Wow, I looked at your feed and it puts mine to shame..” I might be paraphrasing now, but this came up a while ago on steem chat. What the person meant was they saw a distinct look, feel of overall things I’ve put out there. I never looked at it that way before. People ask all the time so, what do you blog about? Honestly, I dislike the question. I dislike it, because it requires to give maybe one to three sentence summary of different, constantly changing, progressing things that people can take and discover for themselves at different levels at their leisure. If you are unwilling to do your own research and want bullet point summaries, don’t be surprised I shoot you down.

People can be very interesting, mysterious and unique creatures to study, to discover bit by bit if only you wanted to. All this time I’ve been here on Steem, I’ve been surprised only couple of times by individuals who actually dug through my stuff. Some have become supporters throughout my journey. I appreciate you so, so much.

When it comes to things I put out there, it is super important for me to read as me, to have my signature all over everything, in writing, voice and my silly creations such as spiky mouse hedgehog thingy. You will never see copy pasta of textbooks or Wikipedia articles, or ten ways how to [input your google search history here] from me. I might be all over the place sometimes, but it is most definitely, genuinely me and I set the bar high for myself on purpose. Even if I fail a lot, I know I’ve still tried my best. Entertaining the crowd or writing for some particular group of people to catch their attention is not my priority when it comes to my posts.

If you find something of value, something interesting for yourself here that’s cool too, but this is my sandbox (I giggle a little writing this). I like playing here all by myself as well.







First strawberries this summer! Nom, nom ^^

Song of the day: Lynyrd Skynyrd - Simple Man
Sort:  

I like your point of view. I mean, for me personally, I don't like those types of blogs with bullet points and Wikipedia... who even reads that? Maybe it's because I grew up with Tumblr, with all its creativity and random streams of consciousness. A niche, a vibe is always good in my book.

Somehow it seems a lot of people design posts to fit certain audience while they are no experts in the field. Stacking, spinning random facts, 'interesting' things they read on the internet. Personally, I have no interest in reading such posts. If I see someone who is actually expert writing about their stuff, they do or study, that I dig.

Thank you for stopping by @thebunbun! More cats coming soon? ^^

Oh @m31, originality at its peak. I like that you have evolved your own content and whether it is great art or poor writing or vice versa, it is you and you will not change to please anyone.

I was stuck when I newly joined in as to what sort of content I should post. I wanted my blog to look professional, to have all those references and quotes and heavy sounding words that people equate with intelligence but I just could not do it. I would start a post and half way I would lose interest and write poetry. After a while, I realised that I have to be me. I have to give the world nothing less than what is burning inside of me. They might hate it, but I know that I am sharing secrets and discovering truths about myself.

I love your art and your content just as they are, thank you. 😂

Thank you so, so much @warpedpoetic!

It is same with the pace. I hate to rush things just to please people. When something's ready, it will be ready. Forced things never bring me satisfaction or joy. Or fulfilling some sort of society's norms and chase unwritten rules of engagement that I have absolutely no clue about.

I think it is beautiful to witness when people actually share what's inside of them, when they allow themselves to be who they really are :)

Hi m31. You have many talents. You do gardening and now EVEN watercolors.

Oh, I sometimes doubt if I even have any talents. Hehe.

Every time I read your posts, I feel as if I’m going through the stuff on your table and you have knowingly left me (or anyone else) little messages “I knew you’d look here, what do you think of my hedgehog? 😋”.

That table indeed is in a lot of my posts. Haha! Oh, I like the way you describe it :)

Hahaha this one gave me a chuckle :) Super cute little hedgehog.

Thank you! ^^ Yeah, you know what? Everyone I've showed this one had similarish reaction and it is exactly how I wanted it to be, hehe!

Hello, I am happy to be so original and unique when it comes to making your publications, I like the hat just what I need in happy days, and the strawberries look very fresh.

Thank you :) Ah, it is not summer without freshly picked strawberries from own garden. Simple joys of life!

I love hedgehogs! They are so cute! Awesome drawing :)

Love them too :) Thank you @naydenova!

Oooh, I keep on forgetting about SteemChat. I would really enjoy meeting you on there and having a converation sometime. How often do you get on there? =)

Lily the HedgeHog is just delightful. I'm reminded of The Animals of Farthingwood Forest, a program I used to love as a child. You know, she would fit really nicely into a little graphic novel, if you were to make one... Her, with others perhaps! Like your deer, and your octopus... And the little minnow fishy!

All this time I’ve been here on Steem, I’ve been surprised only couple of times by individuals who actually dug through my stuff. Some have become supporters throughout my journey. I appreciate you so, so much.

I can honestly say that I was one of those few people who really dug through your work when I first found you, and have been a strong supporter ever since (with my entire 2 cents vote! ;P).

I'm so glad to have found you - there aren't many people I look forward to seeing post, but you're definitely one of them. <3

Oh SteemChat, I am lurking there quite often. That would be lovely :)

I've thought about maybe writing a little, illustrated short story about one of her adventures or something of the sort. Maybe I should finally do it. Hm

You were first person I thought about when writing that. An hey! I value you reading my stuff and your awesome comments more than any vote :)

Thank you so, so much for your kindness @mandelsage!

Please, please do! I bet it would become really popular.

Before you know it, you'll have enough stories to compile a little book! =D

And, the pleasure is mine... =) ... I'll keep steem.chat open in a tab from now on.

Lily the hat-wearing hedgehog is very cute ^_^

If you find something of value, something interesting for yourself here that’s cool too, but this is my sandbox.

I think your outlook is wonderful. It's much better than having your mood depend on how others perceive you and your work. I know I am like that (not just on Steem either), and lots of other people too, so I kind of envy that... it's good to do your own thing no matter what others think. I wish I were as good at believing that as I am at saying it :)

Thank you @lemony-cricket! :)

It is not so easy sometimes and needs constant reminders. So easy to get sidetracked when everyone around you are racing certain direction and pace and sometimes you don't even notice you've been following the flock, not paying enough attention.

You got a 16.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @fukako!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69