Oklahoma Skies in July

in #weather6 years ago

IMG_20180705_121001.jpg

This summer has been unusually wet and warm here in central Oklahoma compared to recent years. Since the beginning of spring, we have been continuously at or near 90 degrees every day. It seems as though we have had more rain this year, but according to statistical data we are just meeting the average over the past year at around 36.5" of rainfall.

The plants have been a lush green. I have had a hard time keeping weeds down in the garden, and they've now overtaken the spring root crops. Today is the first time I've had to run the sprinkler in the garden in a while. I'm harvesting grass clippings now, so I want to make sure to keep my grass nice and green as well.

Thankfully we haven't had any tornado threats or intense hail here. We have had some strong thunderstorms, wind and rain but nothing damaging to the property.

Lately we have been having these big puffy clouds roll through low to the ground. This is what I captured in the photo above. I applied a filter to bring out the intense blue of the sky and the shadow cast by the cloud.

Our blackberries are probably at peak production right now. I like to go out walking through the blackberry patch and snack on some in the afternoon. In some places they have been getting really nice, big and juicy.

The chickens are doing well. I had 2 "pullets" I purchased which turned out to be roosters. We were getting too many roosters so I had to put a few down. They chase the hens hard and they were starting to become troublesome. I kept a black star rooster which is very handsome and well mannered. The other rooster is a blonde buff orpington, who may or may not get to stick around depending on his attitude.

Thanks for reading my short update on the homestead and Oklahoma weather. Let me know what you think of my photo if you liked it.

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

witnessvotes.png

Sort:  

Photo Challange Bloms & Blossom of 8th-13th July. Participants’ Between (55)-(70) Reputation 1st Prize 5 SBD

In Spring, New Blooms and Blossoms start to appear

beautiful-black-and-white-bloom-414214.jpg
However, when shot in Black and White, you start to see the textures in the petals and it's this feature what this challenge is all about.

VOTING Counted after 1 Hour Post.
Partipiants Must be Between (55) to (70) Reputations

So, strictly Black and White and get in close to reveal the textural beauty of Spring!

Click Here to Participate

The chickens are much happier now, too bad about those "pullets"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99