Weather Photography / Flying, beside a huge storm cell, that nearly destroyed my drone- part 2

in #weatherphotography6 years ago (edited)

Continuing the story

A big fat raindrop, just fell on my face....
Immediately, a put the drone in S mode - sport mode (70Kh/h). This will give me a chance to go really fast and hopefully, get my drone home, before the real storm hits. As a responsible drone pilot, I was flying over the woods, so if the drone fails, it would probably crash/land on the trees. Going full speed with a DJI phantom 4 pro, I realize, I got another camera filming a timelapse.
Then the rain starts to pick up. More and more. F...k.

"The golden line"
DJI_0074_HDR.jpeg
Zakynthos, Greece

Now, I got a bad decision to make. Drone or the camera? Daammm, but I need to save both of them. Luckily, I could see the drone and it was nearly home...only 70 m above me. I press the GO HOME button, so the drone will automatically come home, but not at full speed.
I put the remote control under my shirt and ran for the camera, thinking about, how I will lose both of them. Camera and the drone. :(

"The beginning"
35853369_2130838180263814_1727843271343865856_n.jpg
First photo of timelapse

"The core"
35687046_2130838100263822_5442300163391488000_n.jpg
Middle photo of timelapse

"The end"
35553362_2130838036930495_6948438610190270464_n.jpg
One of the last photos from timelapse
(Videos are coming soon...working on it)

When I reached the camera, it had only a few drops on the body and the lens. A little bit of luck, because the camera was protected from big tree and bushes. Camera saved. Quickly, I put the camera in my pocket (sony a6000) and ran back to save the drone.
I see the drone about 5m above the round, preparing to land. I ran fast. I mean really fast, like "The Flash". I grab the drone and at the same time, with the remote control, I turn the drone off. Yes, I have some skills:) Now I have the camera and the drone and its time, to find some shelter in the woods.Ha Ha Ha move of the century...
Huge storm is coming and I m looking for shelter in the woods. Bravo.
Don't be such a dumbass as me!!
Luckily I was ok, but let me tell you this. The scariest 30 min of my life, but that's a story, for another time.
This is what it got me into storm hunting.

All your support, will go for buying a new lens for weather photography, so I could bring you better photos and videos.
🍀Enjoy❤️Upvote❤️Resteem🍀

If you missed the part one:
https://steemit.com/thunder/@marjanko/aerial-photography-flying-beside-a-huge-storm-cell-that-nearly-destroyed-my-drone

My first real storm hunt / supercell:
https://steemit.com/weatherphotography/@marjanko/weather-photography-the-hunt-series-supercell-in-austria-graz-12-6-2018-what-is-going-on-with-nature

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

This post received upvote from @tipU :) | For vote buyers | For investors.

I love it!
Excellent photo!
Greetings from Venezuela...
@marjanko :)

Thank tou very much.🤗 Love, that you like it ❤️

Awesome shot! I like your job 👍😉

Thank you👊 It will get better ☺️ As the storm hunt is on in Eu :)

What beautiful photos! ! !

Thank you very much 🍀

Good story...and images. I will follow you to see the upcoming videos

Thank you my fellow photographer. I appreciate it. Hope, I get it all done till next week, so I can already start with @dtube


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


You got a 44.98% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @marjanko! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

That's scary but funny experience, at least you save them both.👍👍 (Cam and drone: "my hero" 😍)

🤗 thank you 😊

Hello @marjanko,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Beautiful Nature".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-78th-edition-beautiful-nature

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68