You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Small Portion of the Appalachian Trail for #wednesdaywalk {Woody Gap to Preacher Rock}

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

I can't honestly say I hiked on the Appalachian Trail, but my home, when I was a (very young) child, was in the foothills of the Shawangunk Mountains. The Gunks are part of the Appalachian Trail. Our playground was the forest and the mountain. I don't think we ever actually touched the trail. No formal hiking--just traipsing daily without compass or formal guide. I saw a lot more trees in those days than people.

I have to add, your pictures are wonderful... a lot like home, a long time ago.

Sort:  

That's even better! I'm sure the actual trail is only one tiny part of all that wonderful wilderness. What a great way to grow up. I was born in central New Jersey with no mountains right near us, but we always went on vacation to the Poconos once a year. I'm honored to elicit such a happy set of memories for you! I hope to get back out to the N. Georgia mountains again soon and see where else we can explore!

🌲🌲🌲
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77