Wednesday Walk Flora 4

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

Sam and I are in a heavily channeled area just north of civilization here. As you can see it's pretty inhospitable but there are signs of spring even here.

Sam Looks.JPG

The ground here is very dense and hard so what ever rain might fall runs down to the channels and off without doing much for the flowers, trees and cacti.

Lupine?.JPG

I believe this purple beauty to be a member of the Lupine family. I'm not at all certain but it certainl looks similiar to the Lupine that I grew up with in Washington.

Lupine2.JPG

Here's another look at the plant. We don't see this at all where we normally travel, roughly 10 miles South of here, so this comes off as pretty exotic to me.

Big Burr.JPG

Sam is a hound, and a very curious animal to boot. He is often getting sand burr and goats head stuck in his feet. He just limps to me on three legs and waits patiently while I pull it out. I pulled this nasty piece of Cholla Cactus out of his right hind paw after he'd slithered right down into a channel. He was not happy and stood very patiently while I pulled it out. I got two of those spines in my fingers for the effort and had to wait to pull one of them until we got home.

Brusy Green Shrub.JPG

I have no idea what this brushy green shrub is called, but it is relatively common in the hard parts of the desert.

brushy green shrub wide.JPG

It obviously like the places that gather just a little more moisture like along this road. It's not much more moisture but enough to make the difference between life and death for some plants.

Yellow Primrose.JPG

We are going to leave this walk with a yellow primrose. I was a little surprised to see it out here, it normally likes a much more sandy environment to grow in.

So that's it. My #Wednesdaywalk. I hope you enjoyed seeing a little different corner of the desert as much as I enjoyed bringing it to you.

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...


The STEEM Engine


Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

My mom fell in love with lupines when she and my dad took a trip to Nova Scotia several years ago. She started planting them all over around the outside of the house. They are very pretty flowers. Funny story, I opened your post then quickly looked at my other screen to read an email. As my head was turning I saw the picture of your dog out the corner of my eye and I seriously thought it was a picture of a camel. That is until I looked back at the screen and realized it was Sam. That looks like a nasty burr. I am glad you got it taken care of!

Beautiful post, beautiful photos. With your post I know that in the desert we can find green vegetation. Your journey improve our knowledge.
Thank you @bigtom13
Warm regard from Indonesia

From the first shoot it does indeed so rugged dry and bare so its kind of surprising the Lupine ( or something similar I am not expect on Fauna) and green bushes were there, Sam is pretty cool the way he will trust you to pull out the cactus, that must have hurt, I hope you got the bits out of your fingers also

Quite the desolate looking area. Still some nice little flowers out there though! Oh man, cholla is brutal! I bet Sam wasn't happy about that. Thanks for sharing your walk @bigtom13!

I don't know why but cholla sting like crazy when you get stuck by one. I've also heard they have little tiny reverse-hooks along the spine that make them extra hard to pull out. I've been nailed by them, too -- so I believe it. They're not at all like pulling an ordinary splinter.

And out of the dust appeared beauty, amazing that the Lupine is flourishing there, very hardy plant! Ouch that must have been sore, poor Sam!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11