Wednesday Walk Flora Three

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

Sam and I were out on a 'drive and walk' a couple of miles from our normal stomping grounds and found more spring flowers.

Yellow Daisy.JPG

This yellow daisy is very common, we see it lots. It is just now starting to fade and leave room for newer spring flowers.

yellow daisy wide.JPG

You can sorta get an idea of how many of this yellow daisy there are out here. They are probably the single most visible flower on the desert right now because they grow quite tall and there are lots of them.

blackeyed daisy.JPG

This is a black eyed daisy that we had only seen one of on our normal range. On this walk we saw quite a few. There not near as numerous as the all yellow, but the one we'd seen before was obviously not an accident.

blackeyed daisy wide.JPG

They are a somewhat more delicate looking plant than the all yellows and have different colored foilage.

delicate yellow.JPG

Speaking of a delicate yellow flower, there is this. I don't know what it is but it's not very big and looks delicate. I know it probably isn't because it's making it here in the desert, but...

SamHelping.JPG

As always, Sam is ready to help ID new flowers. Even if it means tasting them.

verbena.JPG

I know I've shown Verbena before, but it just goes on and on. It looks to me like the fall bloom is fading fast, but that there will be a spring bloom in a few weeks.

Vetch.JPG

This is a Vetch. They are an attractive plant that are just now starting to bloom. I'll probably have more of these later.

So that's it. My #Wednesdaywalk. I hope you enjoyed seeing a little different corner of the desert as much as I enjoyed bringing it to you.

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!

Sort:  

Nice to see some signs of spring and color there, I have to admit there’s ore color that I had imagined being there with these flowers

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

The predominant color for the whole season will be purple because of the verbena. There's lots of it around. But yellow and white have their places and times.

Well My favorite colors and blue and purple so I would love that being predominant :)

I think the Vetch is my favorite of the ones you have shared today. Thought that delicate yellow one was pretty cool too. I am glad you were able to get out and it is nice to see that snow you got didn't stick around too long!

It's a really pretty plant, isn't it? In cattle country it's considered a horrible weed, but here it just is beautiful.

Not much snow here. North of here is still getting blasted pretty well (which is really good for the river) but we've only had snow on the ground once in the history of Yuma. That goes back to the 1600s :)

Oh wow! That is crazy. It has definitely been an odd Winter all over the country. Hopefully we don't see too many more like this right away.

Very pretty, and surprising to see such colourful flowers in that arid environment.

It is a surprise. This is my 19th spring here. Each one is different, and I think this one is the most verdant that I remember. Good timing for this series :)

You and your awesome companion are at it again. hehe It is awesome. It seems like nature is coming alive. Spring is here. And, nature is most beautiful in these times. So many beautiful flowers blooming.

Thank you for sharing your walk with us brother. :)

Sam is a real component to these walks. He has such a good time that I spend much of my time just grinning at his antics!

I love all the seasons of the desert, but the easiest one to show is the spring. It's truly amazing due to the change from the rest of the year.

I just cannot believe how gorgeous it is to see flowers in the desert. I've never seen anything like it until I read your posts. It's amazing. Purple and yellow as opposite colours on the colour spectrum are just a lovely bonus :D I'll be more mindful about the flowers we have this time of year and show them off - I just realize how special it is because what we think is normal is totally not normal in other sides of the world.

It's amazing to me to see everybody's spring flowers. They are so unique to each area and so individual. I'm really looking forward to seeing your flowers.

Howdy sir bigtom13! Wow it's surprising how colorful the desert can be! And the number of flowers blooming is surprising too so it will be interesting to see what the coming springtime brings, well done and I'm glad that Sam is there to help! lol.

Lovely photos especially the one of your pup, gorgeous :)

Sam makes my day several times a day, but the hour and a half we spend traipsing around the desert is the high point for both of us. He is really such a good boy....

He is so cute :)

Lovely desert blossoms! Thanks for sharing and identifying those. It was a delightful walk. !Tip

Ahhhh thanks. It really is my pleasure to be able to share my world.

You do it nicely! And I can't wait until it's finally warm enough again to get outside and share some of mine!

You do it nicely! And I can't wait until it's finally warm enough again to get outside and share some of mine!

All this little flowers are so beautiful and the dog enjoy so much the walk

Oh, you don't even know. Sam just looses his mind when we are getting ready to go for the walk. Every day he acts like it's totally new and the very best thing that has ever happened to him. It's just so much fun...

That is so cool Our life is wonderful when we have a little friend like this

I'm so jealous of your flowers there. And of course the flowers are blooming away in England in the garden and I'm just seeing snow snow and more snow. Oh well, what can you do?

You doggie is soo cute, but I'm sure you aware of that eh @bigtom13 ?

Well, when you start seeing yours mine will be fading into beige for the rest of the season.

Sam is not only handsome, he is gregarious. Total strangers come up all the time and ask to pet him. He really likes that, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00