Ulog #31 - Wednesday Walk - Street Festival

guitar close up.jpg

This festival was called Cars & Guitars and this giant guitar sculpture was holding center court in the middle of the car show. The sign says the piece is made from "found" materials by artist Brian Watson and donated to the city of Kirkwood.

20190608_175922.jpg

Further on down the block was a vendor selling the more normal size of guitars and other stringed instruments that were handmade by Clark Folk Instruments. I was surprised at the number of people that I saw walking around with one of these instruments they had purchased.

20190608_182220.jpg

There were 4 city blocks with cars, trucks, and antiques on display lined up on both sides. The street was packed with people and it was hard to get a clear shot of the automobiles, but I did manage to get several interesting shots. I won't put them all in, but here are a few more.

20190608_181948.jpg

I love the vivid red color.

20190608_183051.jpg

20190608_183040.jpg

And here's a 1965 model for the Mustang lovers out there.

After browsing the cars we were ready to stretch our legs and do some walking. We walked several blocks around the festival area and saw some really beautiful homes and landscaping.

We made it as far as Grant's Trail, but by then it was time to go back to the festival for some good music. We plan to come back and explore the trails just for themselves.

20190608_192247.jpg

There were four bands playing at the festival. Two stages were set up at each end and two bands played the early set and two more bands played the late set.

20190608_180944.jpg

This was another one of the bands, called Wildfire. They played some really good music and had the crowd fired up for sure.

20190608_203546.jpg

The band we wanted to see, and the reason we came to this street festival, is called Retro Boogie. They were the last band so it was dark by the time I got this picture.

20190608_213559.jpg

And this last photo is a little blurry, but I had to show @crypt-skip getting his groove on. All in all, it was a long but fun day.

20190608_214455.jpg

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Don't abandon STEEM - add Narrative and cross post your Steem content for more exposure. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

2id58ntr4e.png

Sort:  

Great shots, I love this kind of festivals. This combination of something to see and good music. If good food comes on top, it's great to stay a whole day.

I was surprised that they didn't have more food booths. Only a couple - one was pulled pork tacos that didn't look too bad and one was hot dogs/brats and pretzel sticks. There were plenty of restaurants in the surrounding blocks and we ended up opting for pizza just to sit down in a soft chair and enjoy a little air conditioning before the band started.

What a cool festival Even though I another play a guitar or any instrument for that mater i d love seeing them and that is a cool sculpture and cool they were selling instruments sounds like areal fun festival and day thanks for sharing

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :) !tip

Thanks for having this cool idea for Wednesday Walk. @crypt-skip and I are always looking for interesting places to go JUST TO DO A WEDNESDAY WALK PHOTO SHOOT!

Totally my pleasure if it motivates people to get out one more time that’s great and selfishly I get to enjoy travelling the world virtually seeing all the posts 👍😎😂

🎁 Hi @blueeyes8960! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Looks like a great festival!! And I love that people are dancing!!!

Some of that dancing was the beer talking I think, lol, but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. I know we had a great time.

I love that vintage red pickup truck. One on the things on my list if ever I become well off lol. Would be hard to find one here in our country.

Hey nice guitar sculpture, and the Retro Boogie band was good I see. I wish my car engine could look as good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67738.09
ETH 3786.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57