A Night Walk

in #wednesdaywalk4 years ago

For almost two months, life has become very monotonous and repetitive. Of course, the consequence of the measures taken against the spread of the virus. Of the virus we all know about, whether we live in Australia or Greenland or ...

Although it happens about the same, I still tell you that in Romania people over 65 are allowed to leave the house only between 11 am and 1 pm. And not only that, they are only allowed to go shopping and walk only on the nearby streets.

That explains the monotony and repetitiveness. Walking through the same places, nothing new ... I missed a walk at night. I remember a walk at night, in fact it was not really a walk but a return from the theater, but as each return home from the city also means crossing a park, it also means a walk!

IMG_20180910_212743_HHT.jpg

From the city center, the city of Bucharest in Romania, I forgot to say, I took a taxi only to the entrance to the park to take a walk through the desert park, at midnight.

IMG_20180910_195205.jpg

IMG_20180910_195348.jpg

The park is called Bazilescu. This is a very old park and located in the area where in the past there were some secular forests. Many trees in the park are very old, remnants of the forest.

In 1954 a summer theater was built here, a large theater with two thousand seats. After 1989, the year of the Romanian revolution, the theater was abandoned and began to deteriorate.

At night, the image of the theater invaded by vegetation is quite sinister. The image of a horror movie was also given by the fact that the park was not well lit.

IMG_20180910_212946_HHT.jpg

IMG_20180910_213040_HHT.jpg

The discomfort of a walk near this deserted building is also given by certain statements that there is a ghost, the White Woman. Of course I don't think it's true, I went there hundreds of times at night and I didn't see anything. But that doesn't stop me from having some emotion.

IMG_20180910_212955_HHT.jpg

In addition, there is a gloomy story. I don't know why we remember these events, especially at night.

Forty years ago, a serial killer, the only serial killer known to be in Bucharest, killed a woman in this park.

Obviously this man no longer exists, he was caught and executed, but the older people remember the moments when they were afraid to go through the park.

IMG_20180911_214753_HHT.jpg

Well, the somewhat gloomy atmosphere makes me remember these events, even if they are not part of the risk group (this killer, his name was Ramaru, was a student and only attacks women, late at night when they returned from work).

This was a reminder of a walk last year. At midnight through the park. Last year when I didn't know about covid 19, in fact it didn't even exist and no matter how much imagination I had, I wouldn't have anticipated such a crisis.

Post inspired by @tattoodjay's challenge, #wednesdaywalk.

xazsx.jpg

As long as we are threatened by this invisible enemy, it's good to protect ourselves!

@bluemoon
About me!
Disclaimer
I am Dan and I live in Bucharest, Romania. Born in 1954, married and retired. My passions: Art (photography, film, music, painting), Travel and even Cooking.
Since English is not my first language, please forgive any grammatical errors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82