You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk: More Motorcycles

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Wow, for being pretty mundane, I think that first one is really awesome looking. Ah yes, I am very familiar with Vincents. Mostly because there have been so many songs about them. I don't know how many still exist today, but I am guessing there are more songs about them than there are bikes in existence :) Nice post and awesome pictures.

Sort:  

There are actually quite a few Vincents around. I actually bid on one once. Vincent's fame relies on the fact of the songs AND that they were the fastest production vehicle on earth for a few years in the late 40s and early 50s when the whole culture changed.

There is a really rare Vincent. The one and only red 'White Shadow' 1952. It's been bid over $900,000 twice and not sold. Last time it sold puts it in third place all time at $600,000. It will break the record one day. I actually saw it in Las Vegas two years ago.

You can buy a good Black Lightning for less than $50,000 all the time. It's really quite an available classic.

Wow, good to know. I just remember one folk song in particular that talked about it and I know there have been some other songs too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85