Goblin Valley .. A.K.A Mars on Earth .. -= Wednesday Walk=-

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Utah is one of the most dynamic states in the US. Some of the most unique locations in the country are in Utah. I am lucky enough to live in the beautiful state getting to enjoy them. Goblin Valley is one of these unique places and out of all the beauty Utah has to offer, this one is a one of a kind. It is like being transplanted on the plant of Mars. The rock formation and the layout they take are like none I have ever seen or will probably ever see. If you get the chance to come here you need to come explore. Let me give you a little taste of this amazing place right in Utah's backyard. Come with me while I brag about this amazing location and show you a little of what it has to offer. I even have a movie for you if you prefer ;)
...
..
.
goblin valley view.JPG
.
The surrounding area is covered in these raised red rock formations. They take many different sizes and make many different shapes. This is one of the few Utah State Parks you are allowed to explore freely. You can look and you can touch.
.
goblin valley .JPG
.
Down inside the valley, just outside Canyonlands National Park is where you can find Goblin Valley. Shaped by water and wind erosion this spot took the first settlers by surprise. Never seeing anything like this the settlers quickly came to give it the name Goblin Valley because of its mystical feel. They thought they seen goblins.
.
goblin valley rocks.JPG
.
The best part of all is the way you can get down in the valley and explore it for yourself. You get a feel for the valley like you do not get in many other places.
.
The crew down in the valley.JPG
.
Down in the valley is where you really get the feeling of being on a different planet. Once you are surrounded by the stone and rock structures and explore the beauty, you know. It is also best enjoyed with others.
.
goblin valley  over look.JPG
.
Some areas you can get up an look across the valley. Sometimes you are not alone and you get to share this location with other people but for the most part, they just look like ants. The valley is massive and plenty to go around.
.
The little people in the goblin valley.JPG
.
There are trails that go every which way. It is easy to get a little lost but that is when the fun really starts.
.
The open goblin valley.JPG
.
From the ground you can even see more then expected. You get a sense of the age of the area and the many seasons this place has gone through. You can literally see the changes this place has experienced. The time that has passed.
.
The layered landscape.JPG
.
Some of the best view are from the bottom but once you get on top of the cliffs and look down, you truly see the beauty. Getting to over look the valley is a sight that needs to be seen by everyone. Especially your crew :D
.
The crew on top in the valley.JPG
.
Just like Butch Cassidy you can see the same views they seen. Who knows you may even be sitting in the same place they did, seeing the same sights they seen. Or you may be sitting in a spot no one has ever sat before, but there is only one way to really find out. Go check it out :D
.
The bandit in the valley.JPG
.
This is a must visit place. I insisted that everyone try to make it here at least once, you will not be disappointed. I am glad you came with me on my journey through this sight but I think I would enjoy your journey just as much. I want to see everyones journeys here just so I can know that people got to share in my experience.
..
.
.
If you are interested you can check out the walk in fast motion from a GoPro on top of my head. It is only a few minutes long but you can see a little more of this amazing place. Even the caves ;)
====


.
.
.
A special Thank You to @tattoodjay for creating the awesome #wednesdaywalk
Be sure to check it out and join along for the fun. You will not be disappointed.
.
.
.

  • Photos shot on my Nikon | Goblin Valley, Utah
Sort:  

Wow that scenery is amazing it does feel like you took us to another planet
And that’s great it’s feee and full access
A place I would love to visit one day

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

You have to!! This is one of Utah's hidden gems and it is right in the heart of the other National Parks. If you plan a trip here you can see a few other places that are only about 30 to 50 miles apart. You can hit Bryce Canyon, Zions, Canyonlands, Arch's, and Capitol Reef. It is best to give each one a day to visit but you could see some really beauty out here. Utah is the best!

I have seen photos of some of those places and would love to be able to spend a day at each one as you suggest maybe one day I will make it there

I hope you do get the chance to come and enjoy. You better let me know when you head this way, I will show you around :D

IF I ever make it that way I will let you know would be good to get some local knowledge and tips :)

Wow! What a lovely place to explore and experience. The landscapes of the US are vast and mesmerizing. Thank-you for taking us along on your adventure! These are amazing pictures. I can imagine how lovely this location in IRL. Wow 🌅

If you ever get the chance you have to come see the beauty. Honestly there is so much to expolre and see you will have you adventure bug filled! haha

I came to SLC, utah back in 2017. I wish I had seen this post in past. Looks like an amazing place. Would love to visit someday.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love SLC but honestly the best part of Utah is the outdoors. I believe it is the adventure capitol of the world. So many different beautiful landscape and too little time to visit them haha. Unfortunately Utah's politicians would rather use this land for drilling so I try and get as many people out as I can to hopefully stop the madness of the land destruction.

That is a very surreal and other worldly landscape. Utah is on my bucket list! Great post! Resteemed!

COME! The more people that enjoy Utah's beauty the less they try and destroy the land. I promise you will not be disappointed. Plus you can see about 5 other Nation Parks with in about 50miles of each other that are mind blowing! I cant wait to see you here, haha :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The views there look amazing! Thanks for sharing the photos with us @bricbric!

Thank you for stopping by! I hope these intrigue you enough to come down and visit :D

If I would ever go to the US this would definitely be the place to visit. I don't like big cities and always thought that the US was just about this. Recently I have learned that there are beautiful places to visit too. Like this one :)

It indeed looks like a moon land. Amazing! Your photos are great! And I can imagine it must be stunning during the sunrise/sunshine.

Thank you for sharing and have a great day!

You have to come visit!! This place is just a Sate Park but it is right in the heart of the National Parks. Make it a week trip and you can see Zions, Arches, Canyonlands, Capitol Reef, and Bryce Canyon Nation Park. They are not even 50 miles away from each other and they are all unique and beautiful. By far Utah is one of the best outdoor state to visit! Plus we need the tourism. Our crazy politicians would rather drill here and ruin the land instead of share the beauty. I volunteer with SUWA and the more people we can get to come out and enjoy the less the destroy the land.

I'm sorry to hear that the development is hitting you state badly. I can promise that when I come to the US it will be there! And I can also mention these places to my friends who plan to visit the US :)

I hope you'll be able to make a positive difference. It's just sad that politicians don't appreciate what their country has. It's not all about the money...

It is a bummer how the state wants to rip apart the beauty and history here but unfortunately it seems to be happening more and more, everywhere. I wish that they would use methods to minimize the destruction of the land but they seem to stick to the most invasive methods possible. The fact that we are talking about it and that you and your friends would like to come visit is a step in the right direction. We have a large voice here but that doesn't stop the politicians and it defiantly wont stop us. I have faith in the next generation and I think better heads will prevail. With the spread of information the people are starting to see through the B.S.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64