You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk: Historic Homes of My Town Make Me Smile

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

I've always loved Victorian homes and architecture; it is one of my favorite styles.

When my mom and I were living in Venice, California, there was a great Victorian home nearby, and we used to joke that we'd love to buy it and do it up in early Charles Addams (creator of the Addams Family cartoons, which ran for years in The New Yorker, upon which the later series and films were based).

We weren't really kidding.

My dad's grandfather built a gorgeous Victorian home in east Texas, in 1902, and shortly after my divorce in 2005, I thought seriously about buying it . . . but another offer was accepted before I got the chance.

But I'd still love to have a home of that vintage. The workmanship alone from that period is remarkable.

Wonderful post. Thank you.

Sort:  

Oh my!!! Can you imagine if you got the Victorian home which great, great grandfather built?!!!! That would have been an unparalleled acquisition! 😮Wow!!! 😮 Just the thought of it is epic💪🏻💪🏻💪🏻! Thank you for sharing that detail in your family’s life! From Texas to California and back!
I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment, my dear @crescendoifpeace. Have a lovely week, and take care😍😘🌺🤙
!tip

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, we're in Middle Tennessee now, and our county seat of Sparta has some really gorgeous Victorians, as well as having some closer to Doyle, where we live.

Unfortunately, my husband is NOT into vintage homes, and absolutely does not want to live in one. Damn.

Oh well, I'll just have to enjoy them as eye candy for now. ;-)

I hear that restoring and refurbishing a Victorian can cost more than an arm and a leg, LOL! We may be the same as the romantic types... but certainly, your great great grandfather's house has seen much in terms of history. I wonder what the walls would say if they could talk!
Yeah... these homes are definitely eye candy 👀!

🎁 Hi @crescendoofpeace! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: #Piratesunday: A Common But Unique Silver Bar Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92