Wednesday Walk !!

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)


Sometimes, the unexpected comes knocking on your door. Literally. There are love and friendship and then there is that sought after friends til the end, cradle to grave. One that knows me so well, they don't need a phone call to summon their presence. They go to the airport, board a plane and arrive at my doorstep. The time difference is there with many, many miles between us.I've seen them twice now this year. I welcome them with open arms, these girls. they know when I need them, Oh, for the love of God, I have never met such wonderful people.


Everybody has their person. I have three. There is one that came, but, it was a single mission of mercy on their part. Perhaps it was in a piece of conversation we had or it could have been what I wasn't saying. But, there it was. There was a piece of me that needed a friend, another heart to whisper to. I am never sure how they can tell I need them, but, it is like a spirit in the night, fast and swift. Without as much as a glitch. Every.


Coffee first. I breathe. Just a little. With the passage of time we talk, then we talk more. There is laughter and then there are tears. There is a heart that breaks a little, but, nobody has a broken heart


image.png


We usually make these visits about Arlington Cemetery. This time we would take the shortest way possible. We leave some flowers on one of the graves. But, there is a part of me that wants to leave some for every one of these people that gave up their lives so that we could live ours freely. I don't want to get into a debate with anyone about that sentence or that philosophy. I am all about peace and I dislike war terribly. That is all I want to say about that.

image.png


I joined arms and started strolling about. I told her all about #WednesdayWalk with @tattoodjay and how I hated to miss it. She is a good doo-bee and decided to give it a go! We would just include JJ in our day, that is all. I hope he doesn't mind!


image.png

Oddly enough, we all have an association with the Air Force, although none of us grew up under the spell. We were solidly civilian and very happy in it.

image.png


I love Old Ebbitt and I chose it anytime I can. We decide on Old Ebbitt Grill for a nice brunch. I adore its 1920's era architecture, but, mostly, I like the atmosphere. It gives us more time to talk, far and away from the reality of life for the moment.


image.png


I have always loved the way the press has always referred to it as a dining saloon. Really Press Corps? There isn't anything remotely saloon-ish about this place. I think they have the best selection of oysters in Washington, DC and for the tourist in you, it is mere steps from the White House.


image.png


History Lesson Of the Day


Our first president, George Washington, selected the site for the White House in 1791. The cornerstone was laid in 1792 and a competition design submitted by Irish-born architect James Hoban was chosen. After eight years of construction, President John Adams and his wife, Abigail, moved into the unfinished house in 1800. During the War of 1812, the British set fire to the President’s House in 1814. James Hoban was appointed to rebuild the house, and President James Monroe moved into the building in 1817. During Monroe’s administration, the South Portico was constructed in 1824, and Andrew Jackson oversaw the addition of the North Portico in 1829. During the late 19th century, various proposals were made to significantly expand the President’s House or to build an entirely new house for the president, but these plans were never realized.
Every president since John Adams has occupied the White House, and the history of this building extends far beyond the construction of its walls. From the Ground Floor Corridor rooms, transformed from their early use as service areas, to the State Floor rooms, where countless leaders and dignitaries have been entertained, the White House is both the home of the President of the United States and his family and a museum of American history. The White House is a place where history continues to unfold. See Here


Long story short, we stop by the White House for a moment or three. I know, it is so touristy, but, I do it. Every. Single. Time.


image.png


I am so fortunate to live in one of the most beautiful cities in the United States. It is rich in history and the Neoclassical architecture style circle around the Federal and Greek Revival style that is also there. The monuments are everywhere, paying tribute all day long. We meander on this beautiful day, the sun is shining, a nice break from all the rain. It was another perfect day. In so many ways, it was better than perfect. I am not sure we could have picked a better walk.


image.png

It is so hard to find a place to stop. I love this city. Every time I think I have seen it all, I find a little nugget of wonder that I have never seen. Always looking up because the sidewalk can be grungy- and there is something remarkable just waiting to be seen. Now I am just trying to score a few brownie points. Tell me I got them. The Department of Commerce just for @old-guy-photos and #MonochromeMonday.


image.png


Thank you dearly, JJ. @tattoodjay! I want to thank you for hosting this wonderful challenge. It goes without saying that my day was a complete surprise to me, but, it was so welcome. It is hard to explain what these girls mean to me, and even harder to explain to them. I love them dearly. For the record, if there is a knock at my door, I will always answer it. You just never know if it will be that one person that you needed on the other end of that hand.


image.png


¸.•´¸.• ♥*¨)
(¸.•´ ♥ (¸.´ ♥

Countless moons from yesterday
I let you in the door to my thoughts
Trapped in my head, I release them to you
To hold until the crowd of words dissipates.

One last flower. I insist!


image.png


¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul
(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

image.png

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram


image.png

Sort:  

I have not been with you for a long time, I have devoted one of my posts to my beloved grandma, who I just lost.

Greetings my friend and enjoy your wonderful day.

I am so sorry to hear this, Margaret! My heart lay heavy for you as you navigate this information and what to do with it. Know that you are in my heart and prayers.

Love to you.

Składam wyrazy szczerego współczucia. XOXO

I love reading your post. How wonderful life is to give us those friendships that make our life the best.💕

Thank you so much, Denise! I do feel very luck indeed!

I know you are very lucky. Having friends like that is wonderful. Good night❤

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Sounds like you had a real fab day the unexpected ones always turn out the best :)

That is so true! Unexpected blessings are always best!

Friends are the most wonderful gift of life (yes, children too, of course). I am disturbed by the beauty of the photographs, especially the cemetery.
Excellent posting @dswigle, I still have a sensation of deja-vu...I guess why.

You are disturbed by the beauty of the photographs? I can understand the cemetery, some people find them very creepy.

Thank you for stopping by Dan!

Well, that should have happened to me, @dswigle. That's stupid! Please forgive me, I don't understand how I wrote this. I wanted to say that the cemetery photo I liked the most! I think I'm tired ...

This was unexpected was you know but such a wonderful and quite touching post so glad you have friends like that but it is not unexpected you are such a wonderful person no wonder you have such great and caring friends :)

Ohh and I almost forgot

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thank you so much, JJ! It is always a pleasure to take my stroll and make it count toward #WalkingWedenday!

You're the best!! Thanks for the tip. I am so glad they are back~

What a wonderful post! I'm sure that your friends love their time with you.

Thank you! We do have a wonderful time together!

Wednesday walk is very interesting and you make it how everything become good in a story like way.

It can be amazing, those once-in-a-lifetime friend meetings that last decades long after that initial moment.
Excellent post.

Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94