@tattoodjay's Wednesday Walk Challenge. A homage to the letterbox.

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Recently my little toddler @littleblue and myself decided to take a walk every Wednesday, our day home together, and on weekends.

We have posted our otherwise mundane walks in the past.

https://steemit.com/photography/@girlbeforemirror/my-wednesday-yellow-mundane-picture-day

We call them a
Fitness walk 💪💃
Nature walk 🐞🐛🌳🍃☀,
Mindful walk 🙏,
Treasure hunt ♻💎,
Fairy spotting✨,
Little library visit📚,
Spoto walk (spot the yellow car) 🚕...
And if it is raining like today. .. Puddle busting.
☔💧🌈


It's really just about breaking up the day, and getting out. I can't do much.

We go around a block or two.

This week I spotted a post by @tattoodjay announcing his Wednesday walk initiative.

How cool. A kiwi in New York going for a wander on Wednesday too.

Not only one guy, now I discover a whole steemit movement out walking on Wednesday!

https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@tattoodjay/wednesday-walk-advertising-and-steem-basic-income-give-away

We didn't get any puddle busting shots today.

On Wednesday, without even being aware of @tattoodjay's challenge to pick a feature of our walk to document, @littleblue decided to take pictures of his favourite letterboxes.

I know it's not Wednesday, but I have decided to just post when I can. I never manage to do them on the right day.

Needle work Monday
Tree Tuesday
Market Friday...

I am so well intended but I never do it.

Even my favourite weekly topics like the Steemit Vision quest #svq, poetry dice or art explosion . I just haven't been able to get it together.

So here is our letterbox stroll. Better late than never.

@tattoodjay has encouraged everyone to join, get out walking and use #wednesdaywalk to share your ambling through your part of the world.

The humble documenting of letterboxes proves you can find something to admire and share. Maybe try looking through the eyes of a 4 year old. They find magic in anything.

This one impressed him, for obvious reasons.
It's a little bit fancy.

IMG20180923102655.jpg

But this understated original federation letterbox has it's own charm. Don't you think?

IMG20180923102739.jpg

These shiny ones seemed to be a popular choice for the painted wooded fence folk.

IMG20180923102842.jpg

IMG20180923104740.jpg

This one is our favourite. Isn't it lovely, the fence too. Fabulous. We never pass this garden without sampling the lavender that grows through the fence round the corner.

IMG20180923105209.jpg

This one! Out with the old and in with the new. It represents the inner Sydney gentrification and rezoning beautifully.
I'm glad they kept the old one too. They also maintained the post war era house too, which I much prefer to the suburban Mac Mansions.

IMG_20181011_232304.jpg

There is nothing more honest and down to earth than a red brick block, even if not in original form.
It's not so impressive to the little guy, too much like ours 😂. We have been looking to move from a unit to a house for too long. He dreams of our very own letter box.

IMG20180923104941.jpg

This is his favourite, this is what he desires. A dog and a letter box to honour them.

IMG_20181011_232427.jpg


We also made it to the Little library.

Rather than take a book he donated for the first time.
This is a big deal for a kid, to give things away. Particularly anonymously, without the secondary gain of the gift's acknowledgement from the person who received it.

IMG20180923103943.jpg
Important lessons.


Thank you so very much @tattoodjay.

You have legitimised my humble little weekly effort to do something with my bub.

My life is quite limited, but within that limitation I have learnt to appreciate people and the everyday experiences, rather than extravagant experiences that sometimes lose the intimacy you gain in stopping to just smell the roses.

Or indeed check out a rad digger.

IMG_20181011_233415.jpg

Spoto!


Next week on our Wednesday walk we will be heading to Buddha's house.

The meditation centre down the road.

Just a brief stroll in the gardens, even the most zen person does not want us crashing their tranquillity.


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

Loved the entire post!

Impressed with the theme....nothing is bland or mundane when you stop too think. The mailboxes each show personal style, indicate time periods, and yes, even rezoning!

Great entry for this category. Your little guy did well.

I love the dog mailbox and I have wanted to put up a tiny library for years :)

What a cool selection of Mail boxes, such a variety of styles

Appreciate you joining Wednesday walk tip!

@girlbeforemirror,

Was it Shakespeare who said, "A man is his mailbox"?

If so, I'm Number 1. :-)

I hope everything's going well.

Quill

He did come out with some bull's pizzle at times.
I am having my morning coffee.
...in one of my favourite mugs.
IMG_20181016_082659.jpg

IMG_20181016_082640.jpg

I had to get this angle too. On account of the quill.
IMG_20181016_082720.jpg

@girlbeforemirror,

Marg, people don't realize how clever you are. You have an excellent sense of humor and it's potency is due to it's subtlety.

Quill

Hi @girlbeforemirror! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99