Wednesday Walk, and the thing about goat poop

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

I took a little walk in the rain today around the barn where the brush goats are living. It will be time to move the fence soon, so I was scoping out the options.

IMG_20190410_134915997.jpg

The grass is growing like gangbusters! The goats are super happy about it.

IMG_20190410_135103923.jpg

The nettles are about a foot high now. I would have picked some but I left my gloves at home.

IMG_20190410_135129990.jpg

I found some mushrooms growing in some hay the goats left on the ground. I am no good at identifying mushrooms, so I'll let the armchair mycologists be in charge of that.

IMG_20190410_135039849.jpg

The swallows were out in full force too. I managed to grab a couple of pictures of them swooping over the water, but they're not great. It's hard to hit a moving target.

IMG_20190410_172043.jpg

And then the thing about the goat poop. The lovely lush grass makes the goats giggle with excitement, but the spring grass is very rich and makes their rumens too acidic. This turns their poop from nice little pellets into liquid. I have been giving them baking soda, which balances the pH in the rumen, but it's not working very well yet. I may have to get out the big guns and give them cornstarch. I will spare you any pictures since some of you may be eating and I've already been too descriptive, I fear. How about a nice goat picture instead?

1401.JPG

It wasn't a very long walk today, but it was lovely in spite of the rain. Thanks to @tattoodjay for this fun challenge!

Sort:  

A lovely walk! The way his/her leg hangs over that board makes it look like its filled with silly putty! How can it bend like that? Do they have knees?

Hahahaha! It does look like silly putty! That's his knee bent over the edge.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a nice walk to be with lush green nature!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love your posts, and your goats. Keep it coming .

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoy your post. The information I get is good advice. Baking Soda , I would have never thought.

Thank you! The baking soda is a cheap and easy fix.

Posted using Partiko Android

The chickens get like that periodically, and I don't know why. Gross, gross, and gross.

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

🎁 Hi @goat-girlz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Goat poo! hahaha :0

You had a lovely walk despite the rain. Love hearing about your goats and how you look after them. Not gross at all...I grew up on a farm so used to anything you can tell us about that side of farming. 😊

Thank you! What kind of farm did you grow up on?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not a huge farm. At times a few cows, work horses. Pigs and always chickens. I can milk a cow
One time a goat that Dad milked because my brother was allergic to cow’s milk.

That sounds wonderful! I would love to have a horse but we don't have room for one. Goat milk is awesome. I haven't had cow milk in years.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello..
@goat-girlz
Fantastic... It truly has a lush Spring feeling. Beautiful green grass. The nettle sure is thriving...!!!! You'll definitely need gloves for that project. Spring..Sprang..Sprung..
:D

Woohoo! It's been raining like crazy which is putting the grass on overdrive.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98