WEDNESDAY WALK - THROUGH THE WINTRY WOODS

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

The snow continues to fall here in SE Pennsylvania. We had snow on March 1st, March 2nd, and March 3rd we ended up with a total of about 11 inches. It was a strange sequence of storms, because between each storm we has a warming period where the snow would melt off of the roadways but remained most everywhere else. So on Saturday during one of these warming periods I decided to go for a walk through the woods.


The first stop was to take a shot of this big white cedar that grows right next to my house, all frosted with snow.
IMG_1516 2.JPG


The next shot was of these red cedar trees in my yard that surround a large bolder.
IMG_1520 2.JPG

Here is a closeup of the bolder.
Over the years people have piled rocks around the bolder to make a kind of ramp to the top.
IMG_1521 2.JPG


At this point I began my hike into the woods. The first thing I came across was a lot of downed trees and under growth.
This is an old dead pine that was blown over in a wind storm earlier in the week.
IMG_1522 2.JPG
Then I saw all this undergrowth that was bent down and knocked over.
It is strange how a lot of these small saplings have been bent over into arches like this. The only thing I can figure is this happened due to some icing we had this winter.
IMG_1529 2.JPG


Here you can see my traveling companion. Her name is Bella (A Saint Bernard Mix). She is here to protect me as we travel through the "forbidden" woods. You can see our destination ahead, a stand of tall white pines.
I call this the "forbidden" woods because in all the years I have lived here (almost 15) I have never traveled through this area, you will soon see why.
IMG_1532 2.JPG

This is what I had to navigate through. Fallen pine tree after fallen pine tree.
IMG_1546 2.JPG
after fallen pine tree,
IMG_1549 (2).JPG
after fallen pine tree,
IMG_1552 (2).JPG


Further and further I traveled into the woods, slowly picking my way through the underbrush.
IMG_1537 (2).JPG

IMG_1545 (2).JPG

After a bit of struggling I finally made it to the middle of the pine grove, and took a shot looking straight up.
IMG_1559 (2).JPG


Finally after quite a bit of struggle and poked eyes I made it through to the other side, where I saw this tree with a few leaves still hanging on.
IMG_1563 (2).JPG
and managed to get this one cool photo
IMG_1566 (2).JPG


Looking back I vowed never to return to those "forbidden" woods.
IMG_1567 (2).JPG

We finally got onto the trail that would take us home and my faithful traveling companion is look back wondering what is taking so long, after all she had no problem getting through the woods.
IMG_1571 (2).JPG

Hope you all enjoyed the hike.
Until next time have a blessed week.

HH Steem.png

Sort:  

Wow excellent hike! Thanks! I like this kind of hiking, letting someone else walk in the cold! Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm happy to be your substitute hiker, hehe :)

Your Forbidden Woods look a lot like my Woods here in Wisconsin. I have been noticing a lot of those bent over saplings too, that I'm assuming happened when they were covered with ice and then we got 50 mile an hour winds. Hopefully they can recover and stand back up straight this spring. I see we have more snow on the way Thursday night and then again over the weekend. Sorry. It probably comes to you after it gets done with us.

Yeah, we had that same weather combo of ice then wind here also, Ice is always rough on the trees. They are calling for some weather this weekend but it looks like it will be mostly rain here, I'm hoping (fingers crossed) I can't take anymore snow.

I did enjoy following along on your hike I love those looking up shots and yes I see why you call it the forbidden woods

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thank you,
Now that my curiosity has been satisfied I never need to go back, haha ;)
I really like your Wednesday Walk challenge.

LOl thanks again :)

Glad you like the challenge and yes some places one visit is enough

🎁 Hi @hhayweaver! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank for sharing the pics! Are you enjoy the snow? Looks so beautiful up there.

Howdy sir hhayweaver! wow I'm tired. lol. that was a heck of a walk through all those fallen trees and brambles! dang. You got some great shots though, the ones looking straight up were really unique! gotta stop snowing soon though!

I sure hope so. The forecast is looking better we might even see 60 degrees next week :)

Congratulations @hhayweaver! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73