WednesdaywalksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Hello Steemians

Welcome to the excellent #wednesdaywalk with
thanks to @tattoodjay

I was visiting the cabin last week, and took a walk along
the road allowance, it's a section for logging trucks to use
enabling them to cross the river.
There is this old trappers cabin, I guess from the 1800's in...
DSC_2352 (2).JPG
advanced decay.
The workmanship is clearly visible. Dovetail corners made
without power tools, imagine the work and skill .....
DSC_2355 (2).JPG
to do all that work.
Following the clearing it looks like a moose had the same
idea, the tracks are obvious and fresh.
Getting back to the cabin there was some movement in....
DSC_2349 (2).jpg

the water and there were three otters, sniffing and watching me
as I was watching them.
DSC_2409 (2).JPG

DSC_2399 (2).JPG

Upvote!!.gif

Sort:  

Its really nice visiting the cabin photography.

Thank you, always interesting looking into the past

Now that's a wilderness walk! Cool old cabin and watching otters is so very entertaining! Great photos!

Thank you, it is a remote location, not much different from when that cabin was new...

I can see that! It looks like paradise and I think I would like to move in!

I have that thought too...lol

Is there a decent wifi connection? That's all I would need....

haha, there is wifi...and it's reliable...town is only 35 min away..

If only... I guess I'll have to be satisfied with my own back yard. I have seen an otter in my pond a couple times!

Your backyard is an oasis, no need to get away..

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now there's a Canadian comment. Town is only 35 minutes away. lol

hahaha...thats if im doing 30km over the limit...lol

What cool things you came across in this walk, Moose tracks, Otters and that cool old cabin, I am glad you shared with us the detail of the workmanship back when it was made

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks, always something interesting going on in the area.

Thanks, always something
Interesting going on
In the area.

                 - karbon


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Cute otter fellows, do these guys find oysters to eat and crack them open with a rock on their bellies?

Posted using Partiko Android

I see them usually once a year.
I don't believe they use that method like the sea otters do, but they will eat mussels, and crayfish, as well as other fish, even ducks, just about anything.
I have heard their teeth crunching the bones of fish they caught.

What a nice place for a walk and I love watching otters.

Now that is my kind of walk! Love the otters and the old trappers cabin. Those dovetail corners are always amazing to see on anything that was made during that time period. They sure don't make them like they used to!

They don’t make anything the way they used to.. lol.. The lack of power tools and what they did always amazes me..

Posted using Partiko iOS

The otters are super cute, thanks for sharing these with us here on Steem!

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!
I got to watch them for quite a while.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! this is a great wednesdaywalk sir karbon, loved the close up of the trapper's cabin and the otters.

Thank you, I rarely see the otters so it was a real treat for me...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13