Wednesday Walk ~ Springtime Interrupted

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

No more bragging from me about our perfect weather. No more "It hasn't snowed here since the Blizzard of '96." Nope, we just got hammered by a blast of winter. I guess this will come to be known as the Blizzard of '19. It's over for now and we got less than a foot of snow, but this town is not prepared for that. Today I'll show you some photos from the Fernwood area of Victoria - mostly from within a block of home because that's how far I could walk in this stuff.

P2120039.jpg

The high school has been closed for three days now, and those poor kids haven't had a chance to build a decent sized snowman in their lifetime... so here is their indecent snowman.

P2120066.jpg

The snow has turned most of the scenery into black and white so I decided to look for a little colour in my next shots.

P2120050.jpg

I've always liked this old house and today the colour was really appreciated.

P2130010.jpg

A decorative Owl on a fence post. The poor thing was very cold so someone made it a newspaper hat.

P2130018.jpg

I notice the Kilt store is open and all the snow cleared from the steps. I'm not sure why this place exists. I've seen exactly one guy who wears a kilt and he runs the store!

P2130017.jpg

The little Fernwood gallery has a new show opening and it looks interesting.

P2120046.jpg

The lady who works at the convenience store saw me with my camera and came out to pose for me.

P2130005.jpg

Here's a whole crowd of little snowpeople on a wall. These little guys are about four inches tall.

aq36qu63jn.jpg

Finally, now that the snow has stopped and the temperature is above freezing... let the melting begin! I hope we will be back to spring within a few days. That's all from snowy Fernwood... how's your day going? :-)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you, @pixresteemer!

Who would gave ever thought that your Wednesday walk post would look very similar to my Wednesday walk post! That's pretty crazy. And I think you would look great in a Kilt!

You think I would look good in a kilt? I guess we'll never know! ;-)

Hahaha! You could at least stop in an try one on for a photo! I've never seen a kilt store before!

This is the only kilt store I've ever seen. I saw a man standing on that porch one night. He had long white hair in a ponytail and a neatly trimmed beard. He had some sort of military looking jacket on, one of those Scottish Tam caps, and of course the kilt. There he was, all backlit by the porch light, smoking a tobacco pipe... and me without a camera for some reason!

Maybe you will have an opportunity again someday! Your description is great, but I would really love to see that photo!

It's why I have my little Olympus camera now. It's so small I almost always have it with me. Except for two days ago, walking in the morning. Snow coming down like crazy, giant flakes. There ahead of me, coming through an archway of trees, almost like a tunnel... here comes this woman carrying a red umbrella. It was such a classic scene and again, no camera. I swear I do have it 98% of the time.

Isn't that the way? When I go out I always have my Powershot in my purse. I know exactly what you mean!

I am not sure if it’s my phone or the network on the train 🚂 or steem but photos aren’t loading for me now so I will have to swing back to check them out
A foot of snow when a city is used to it is bad enough but fir a city that isn’t it must be a nightmare

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Only seems to work in esteem. I don't know how to fix this! I'm trying to edit & reload the photos through Steemit, but it's not working.

Photos are viewable through Busy.org or Esteem, so it seems to be a Steemit problem.

I am noticing I’m steemit on my phone and steem peak it seems to come and go sometimes I see your shots and sometimes not
It’s weird I have two tabs open to this post one shows the photos and the other not
But at least I got to see them now I was intrigued what was indecent about the snowman she’d i read that LOL kids will be kids

I think the whole blockchain was having the hiccups, it all seems normal now.

Yeah I think that was the case

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It is difficult to capture photo in this weather but you are showing a lot of scenery in snow situation.

Thanks very much, I tried to find something interesting ;-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Kids are creative when they can make snowman or something, aren't they? LOL

Yes, although that "snowman" was knocked down shortly afterwards ;-)

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Howdy sir Keith! wow what a shocker huh? Most of the town is shut down? Those are good photos.

It's all running today, just slushy on the side streets. The main streets are all clear now. I'm surprised the high school seemed to be closed again. It is funny for me to watch people out here trying to cope with the snow. I grew up in the great lakes area, we had plenty of snow, at least when I was a kid. I just watched a teenaged girl get her little Fiat stuck in the snow. Tires spinning, no snow tires on it. Three teenaged boys stood there watching, puzzled... not helping. In Toronto, those young guys would have had her on the road in 30 seconds. Geez, they could have almost picked it up and carried it if they didn't know how to push a car! Hilarious! LOL

ha! that is freaking hilarious indeed sir Keith! what in the world? Those guys didn't know what to do? Isn't it a little obvious even for a warm climate person? lol.

I know, it seemed crazy. She just sat there spinning those little wheels, not moving at all, while they watched. It's isn't that hard... you rock it back and forth a couple times, then shove the thing...

I'm very sorry you had to brave the cold to get those stunning shots @keithboone It's a wonder you could hold the camera still enough to get those wonderful details. I thoroughly enjoyed walking through your very picturesque and snowy neighbourhood.......in my lounge room with my air con going full blast to keep out the unbearable heat outside. 😏 😁 (U & R )

I think your heat wave is a lot worse than this. It's not really all that cold, the temperature is above freezing and all that snow and ice is melting now. Thank you for your support!

I think maybe you are right Keith. Enjoy the not so cold weather over your way as you prepare for what will hopefully be an awesome Spring. I'm really looking forward to some cooler weather. Some rain would be nice too. 😊

The weather seems to get more extreme all the time, doesn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80